Hamline News

A New Way to Celebrate

Many things have changed for faculty, staff and students this spring, including how the Hamline community recognizes students who receive honors and awards. This year, the “Honors Convocation” was renamed: “The Awards and Honors Ceremony.” Like other similar celebrations of students’ successes in the spring of 2020, it was online.

The live event, held on Friday, May 15 at 10:30 a.m., was also recorded for those who could not attend. Over 75 people dialed in from around the country to watch President Miller and Provost Matachek recognize the students who received prominent institutional and national awards.

President Miller began by acknowledging the virtual context of the event and quickly moved on to express her pride in Hamline students.

“I am proud of you. The Hamline University community is proud of you. And, I have no doubt that you will continue to accomplish great things.” Miller said.

She handed the microphone -- virtually -- to Provost Matachek who described the awards and mentioned the student recipients while a slide show appeared on the computer screens.

Bridget Benson, Echoe Bilben and Stephanie Esplana received the Eugene W. Randall Prizes.

The Diversity Research Award went to Aaisha Abdullahi for her essay "Extracurricular Activities and Positive Outcomes: Unique Challenges for Muslim Youth in the United States."

Lue Her earned the Mary Maude Knox Memorial Award for Academic Excellence.

Three students, Anna Schultz, Matthew Kuhnhenn and Paige Daniels were awarded Stedman Prizes.

Emily Hilderbrand was honored with the Campus Compact President’s Leadership award.

The Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellows Award went to Dieu Do.

This year Olivia Hjerleid got the Claribelle Olson Award.

Senior Oubeida Ouro-Akondo received the 2020 Pat Paterson leadership honor.

Sophie Warrick earned the Allan T. H. Bluhm Memorial Award.

This year’s Ridgway Forum Fellows are Ashley Robinson, Eliot Joy, Kaia Zeigler
and Halima Ahmed.

Hunter Holten competed for and won a Science, Mathematics and Research for Transformation (or SMART) scholarship from the Department of Defense.

During the presentation, viewers could be seen clapping silently in their squares.

President Miller wrapped up the event with the presentation of the Wesley Awards. The 2020 graduate recipient is Ghaoyeeng “Jessica” Yang. The undergraduate recipients are Alexandra “Alex” Pick and Ricardo Martinez.

After the awards and honors were announced, people stayed logged onto the meeting to chat with each other.

The Awards and Honors Ceremony was recorded and is available to the Hamline community. 

Written by staff