Hamline News

Hamline's Minnesota Campus Compact Presidents' Awards

Minnesota Campus Compact has announced Hamline's winners of the Presidents’ Student Leadership Award, Presidents’ Civic Engagement Award, and Presidents’ Community Partner Award. These awards provide an opportunity for presidents of Minnesota Campus Compact's member institutions to give statewide recognition to effective leaders in the development of campus-community partnerships. Minnesota Campus Compact works to support civic engagement and democratic renewal through its diverse network of colleges and universities.

Presidents’ Student Leadership Award: Kiana Verdugo
This award is for an individual student or a student organization that models a deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidenced by initiative, innovative and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues, effective community building, and integration of civic engagement into the college experience.

Kiana works tirelessly to make the world a better place for others. Currently, she is a Snelling Connection Co-Editor, serves as the Co-President for SAAC, and is the youngest member to ever be elected to the Arizona Hemophilia Association Board of Directors.

Presidents’ Civic Engagement Steward Award: Susi Keefe
This award is for a member of the faculty, administration, or staff or for a group (e.g., advisory committee, task force, project team) that has significantly advanced their campus’ distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’ civic engagement, and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement.

Susi Keefe was nominated based on her distinctive and inspiring accomplishments in her public health courses. In Fall 2017, Professor Keefe worked with her Health and the Environment course and the Feed Your Brain campaign to increase awareness of food insecurity and her Senior Seminar conducted research and developed an educational public health campaign addressing the use skin cream with mercury in the Hmong community.

Presidents’ Community Partner Award: Jodie Wilson
This award is for a community-based organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community in meaningful and measurable ways and has engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with the college or university, thus enriching educational as well as community outcomes.

Jodie Wilson has been the liaison to the Hamline Collaboration since 2013. Every week she supports over 100 university students in the tutoring program, student newspaper, and mentoring program. Also a Hamline Alumna, she serves in a variety of integral roles within both of the Hamline communities and their collaboration.

 Verdugo, Keefe, Wilson, and other award winners will be honored at the Minnesota Campus Compact Annual Summit on April 19. Hamline is honored to be hosting the summit this year.