Hamline News

Minnesota Celebrates the Americans with Disabilities Act

Hamline University Office of Disability Resources and Hamline Archives are pleased to join other sponsors in celebrating the 29th Anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) on Friday, July 26 from 1 - 4 pm in the Anderson Center. Community members are welcome to attend the event which includes discussion from state officials and concludes with a performance by Gaelynn Lea.

“When the organizers of the 29th Anniversary Celebration of the ADA were searching for a location for the celebration they landed here at Hamline University,” said Director of Disability Resources Steve Anderson. “Hamline offered a location that was centrally located in the Twin Cities and Anderson Center was a great venue that is fully Accessible for all who attend.”

The ADA became law 29 years ago and continues to be one of the most comprehensive civil rights laws. It protects the rights of and prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities.

“Hamline University has a mission to provide an inclusive environment to all who come to our campus and in hosting this celebration we demonstrate our commitment to celebrating the diversity on our campus, as well as the greater community of which we are a part,” said Anderson.

The Friday afternoon event features talks and entertainment. Rebecca Lucero, Minnesota Human Rights Commissioner, will kick off the event followed by a panel led by the Minnesota Department of Human Services Deputy Commissioner Claire Wilson that includes Noah McCourt and Sophie Vang, who are members of the disability community; Chad Wilson, an attorney with the Minnesota Disability Law Center; and, Sue Abderholden, Executive Director with the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). The event concludes with a performance by Gaelynn Lea, violinist, songwriter, and 2016 NPR Tiny Desk contest winner.

All are welcome to attend.

WHERE: Anderson Center at Hamline University

WHEN: Friday, July 26, 2019, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m



Written by staff.