Hamline News

Hamline 3L Farah honored by Federal Bar Association


Hamline Law 3L student Amran Farah received the 2013 Judge Jacob Dim Memorial Award from the Minnesota Chapter of the Federal Bar Association at the FBA's 31st annual Law Student Scholarship Award Ceremony Wednesday evening. The ceremony and reception for the four local law schools took place at Hamline Law.

The award is named for the Honorable Jacob Dim, who served as a federal bankruptcy judge in the District of Minnesota. The Honorable Donovan W. Frank, JD '77, presented Farah with the award. Judge Frank is a United States District Judge of the United States District Court, District of Minnesota.

Farah (second from left) was joined by her mother (far left) and brother (far left) for the ceremony. Also pictured are Judge Frank (center) and Hamline Law Dean Donald Lewis.

The Judge Jacob Dim Memorial Award recognizes excellence in the study of federal law and practice. Each year, a graduating student is selected with the help of faculty members and receives an engraved plaque and a check for $2,000.

The Federal Bar Association (FBA), founded in 1920, is dedicated to the advancement of the science of jurisprudence and to promoting the welfare, interests, education, and professional development of all attorneys involved in federal law. The Minnesota Chapter has sponsored the Law Student Award Program, which recognizes outstanding law students, for more than 20 years.

2013 FBA Award Recipients

Judge Earl R. Larson Award: Terrence E. Schnurr, University of St. Thomas, presented by the Honorable Susan Richard Nelson

Judge Edward J. Devitt Award: Chris Schmitter, University of Minnesota, presented by the Honorable Michael J. Davis

Harry A. Sieben Award: Lauren D'Cruz, William Mitchell College of Law, presented by the Honorable Paul A. Magnuson

Judge Jacob Dim Award: Amran Farah, Hamline University School of Law, presented by the Honorable Donovan W. Frank