Hamline News


A Trio of Hamline Creative Writing Faculty Won National Awards

Three Hamline University Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing for Children and Young Adults (MFAC) faculty members won national book awards for their works of fiction at the recent American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Conference in Seattle.

Meg Medina won the 2019 John Newbery Medal for her novel Merci Suárez Changes Gears. The John Newbery Medal is awarded by the American Library Association to the “most distinguished children’s book” published every year.

Elana K. Arnold’s novel Damsel was selected as a Michael L. Printz Honor Book. The Michael L. Printz Award and Honor Books are ALA honors given for the best books written for teens each year.

Emily Jenkins won the Sydney Taylor Book Award from the Association of Jewish Libraries for her picture book, All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah, illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky. The award recognizes a work of literature for children and teens that authentically portrays the Jewish experience.

“This continues an impressive run for our MFAC faculty,” said Mary Rockcastle, who directs The Creative Writing Programs at Hamline University. “Nina LaCour won the Printz Award last year, and Kelly Barnhill won the Newbery Award two years ago. Several faculty have also been National Book Award finalists.”

Hamline’s MFAC faculty are award-winning authors, experienced teachers, and committed faculty mentors. The program is focused on helping students develop the process and craft of writing in a rigorous, engaged, and supportive environment.

Written by staff