Hamline News

Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation Campus Center Update

Representatives from Hamline’s Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT) Campus Center grant committee are participating in the national kick-off project meeting the week of September 25 in Washington D.C. They join the other nine institutions chosen as campus centers by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U). This initial meeting is one step in the process of identifying the work and partnerships for individual TRHT campus centers, and how the institutions will work together going forward.

Hamline’s TRHT committee has already identified two community partners that will attend the September 28-29 meeting with the university's representatives. Community partner representatives Arnoldo Curiel, Vice President of Racial Justice and Public Policy EdD ‘14 of the YWCA Minneapolis, and Julie Plaut, Executive Director of Minnesota Campus Compact, will join Rebecca Neal (HSE), Jermaine Singleton (CLA), Carlos Sneed (Dean of Students Office, Hedgeman Center), Jean Strait (HSE), and Jane Turk (Center for Teaching and Learning).

In January, the AAC&U will hold its inaugural Truth, Racial Healing Transformation Institute in Washington, DC. At that event, the campus centers will develop transformative action plans to advance racial healing and will be involved in the creation of a related guidebook to support the
implementation of future TRHT Campus Centers. In collaboration with AAC&U, campus center teams will identify evidence-based strategies that support the vision of the TRHT initiative by working with an consultant to design a framework for measuring progress.

Other members of Hamline’s TRHT committee include: Jill Barclift (Associate Provost), Patty Born (HSE), Valentine Cadieux (Environmental Studies, Sustainability Director), t. Aaron Hans (Diversity Initiatives), Máel Embser-Herbert (CLA), Caroline Hilk (Center for Teaching and Learning), Patti Klein (Dean of Students), Marcela Kostihova (Dean of the CLA), Amanda Roll-Kuhne (Provost’s Office), Lisa Nordeen (Academic Success), Mike Reynolds (Associate Dean of Graduate Programs), Jim Scheibel (HSB), and Nancy Victorin-Vangerud (Wesley Center). You can find out more about the TRHT grant on Hamline’s website.