Hamline News

2017 Hedgeman Honors and Awards

On Wednesday, April 26, the 2017 Hedgeman Honors and Awards ceremony was held with more than 70 faculty, staff, students, and family members in attendance. The event recognized undergraduate student excellence in academics, leadership, and service. In addition to recognizing graduating seniors’ accomplishments and their plans for the future, student leader Jenni Wuang Yang delivered the senior address. Sesen Kidane (’17) received the Barbara Simmons “Eagle” Award, the highest award given at the Hedgeman Honors and Awards.

Receiving Outstanding Student Awards: Padue Vue (first-year), Hafsa Hassan (first-year), Jessica Yang (sophomore), Philip Adenodi (junior) and Law Thao (senior).
Outstanding Faculty Award: Professor Rebecca Neal (School of Education)
Outstanding Staff Award: Nancy Vang (Wesley Center) received
Outstanding Ally Award: Andrew Banker (’19)
The Leavy Oliver Directors Award: David Peterson (senior), and Guadalupe Bañuls (Information Technology Services) and Molly Doran (School of Education) for outstanding support and assistance to the mission, initiatives and programs to the Hedgeman Center.
Multicultural Student Organization-of-the-Year Award: 
Hmong Student Association (HSA) 

The program is organized by the Hamline University Hedgeman Center for Student Diversity Initiatives and Programs, which helps create and sustain an inclusive community that appreciates, celebrates, and advances student and campus diversity. The center supports, empowers, and promotes the success of all students with particular attention to U.S. students of color and indigenous students, first generation students, and others from historically marginalized backgrounds. For more information, please call the Hedgeman Center at 651-523-2423 or visit the center's website.