Hamline News

New Picture Book from Miriam Busch, MFAC '14

Raisin-Busch_375

Raisin, the Littlest Cow by Miriam Busch
Balzer + Bray
Publication date: March 28, 2017
Picture Book, 4-8 years, 40 pages
Illustrated by: Larry Day
Order the book: HarperCollins

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

An irresistible sibling story about Raisin, the littlest cow on the farm, and what happens when she gets a little brother—from the author and illustrator of Lion, Lion. Perfect for fans of Hug Machine and You Are (Not) Small. 

Raisin loves being the littlest cow in the herd. All the other cows dote on her, and life is grand.

But one day, Raisin’s mother has a new little cow... one who is even smaller than Raisin. And suddenly everything changes. Raisin has never liked change, and this one is the worst. Now no one pays attention to her, the new baby smells funny, and even the weather won’t cooperate.

But then, when absolutely everything is going wrong, Raisin discovers a change in herself—one that delights the entire herd. Even (and especially!) the new baby.

Watch the book trailer here.

 

SOME OF THE PRAISE

Raisin’s tiny bovine nose is out of joint when her new baby brother arrives… Day’s multimedia art ratchets up the cuteness with little Raisin’s fuzzy topknot and displays a quirky sensibility while details like the drive-in theater keep staleness at bay. One to add to the new-baby shelf.
—Kirkus Reviews

Written with empathy, a bit of drama, and touches of humor...offers a reassuring new slant on a timeless story.
—Booklist

Praise for LION, LION:
Sly, dark humor for little ones—at its best.
—Kirkus Reviews

With plenty of chuckle-worthy illustrations and a simple but enjoyable story, this should work well in storytimes or for one-on-one reading.
—School Library Journal

Amusing…[with] a Sendakian flair... An excellent way to introduce younger listeners to the deliberate subversion of expectations.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

A killer combination of twisty wordplay, kid-perfect watercolors and characters that demand funny voices, Lion, Lion is a read aloud sure to leave your audience delighted and you just a little hoarse.
—NPR

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Miriam Busch earned her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Hamline University. She loves pie and elephants and trees and whales and stories of all sorts. You can visit her at www.miriambuschauthor.com.

Miriam and Larry Day also collaborated on the picture book Lion, Lion, which was named an Illinois Reads selection, an NPR Best selection, an Indie Next Best selection, a Junior Library Guild selection, and a Bank Street College Best Book of the Year. They live in the Midwest.

Click here to check out upcoming events.
Follow Miriam on Twitter: @MiriamBusch 
Connect on Facebook: Miriam Busch, Author