Hamline News


MN Book Awards Finalists

The finalists have been announced for the 29th annual Minnesota Book Awards. Authors and artists living in Minnesota are eligible for the award. The finalists are selected by a group of 27 judges from around the state, including writers, librarians, booksellers and others.

Six Hamline alums have been named as finalists:

Children’s Lit
Worm Loves Worm by J.J. Austrian (MFAC ’12)
illustrated by Mike Curato
Balzer + Bray

Middle Grade Lit
Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor’s Story by Caren Stelson (MFAC ’09)
Carolrhoda Books/Lerner Publishing Group

The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse by Brian Farrey (MFA ’09)
Algonquin Young Readers/Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill) 

Novel/Short Story
The Annie Year by Stephanie Wilbur Ash (MFA ’99)
Unnamed Press 

May Day by Gretchen Marquette (MFA ’12)
Graywolf Press 

Young Adult 
Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers (MFAC ’14)
HarperTeen/HarperCollins Publishers


Two of our faculty were also nominated for awards: 
Unbearable Splendor by Sun Yung Shin 
Poetry from Coffee House Press

Wintering by Peter Geye
Novel from 
Alfred A. Knopf