Hamline News

Two MFAC Alums Receive ALA Honors

The Smell of Other People's Houses and SACH/KO

Debut books from two MFAC alums received Honors at the American Library Association's midwinter conference in Atlanta.

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s (MFAC '12) debut YA novel, The Smell of Other People's Houses, published by Wendy Lamb Books, a division of Random House, received a 2017 William C. Morris Honor

Caren Stelson's (MFAC ’09) debut work of narrative nonfiction, Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor's Story, published by Carolrhoda Books, a division of Lerner Publishing Group, has been named a 2017 Robert F. Sibert Informational Honor Book.

The full announcement can be read at Publisher’s Weekly


About the Awards

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature. The award's namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. Bill Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens.

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. American Library Service to Children (ALSC) administers the award.