Hamline News

2014 Campus Compact's President's Awards Winners


The Minnesota Campus Compact's Presidents’ Student Leadership Award, Presidents’ Community Partner Award, and the Presidents’ Civic Engagement Steward Award have been given to Jeremiah Osokpo, Keystone Community Services, and Nancy Victorin-Vangerud. These awards provide an opportunity for member presidents and chancellors to give statewide recognition to effective leaders in the development of campus-community partnerships.  

Presidents’ Student Leadership Award: Jeremiah Osokpo
Jeremiah Osokpo demonstrates extraordinary leadership in his devotion to enhancing the post-secondary success of young people from diverse backgrounds. Jeremiah exemplifies leadership both on-campus and in Hamline’s surrounding communities through active participation in the Hamline Undergraduate Student Congress (HUSC), the Hamline African Student Association, and AVID mentoring for high schoolers.

Presidents’ Civic Engagement Steward Award: Nancy Victorin-Vangerud 
Nancy is active in sponsoring visiting interfaith speakers, planning events for Genocide Awareness Month involving a presentation by Dakota leader and film-maker Sheldon Wolfchild, participating in annual Catalyst trips, engaging in Frogtown Park and farm focus groups, and partnering with Hamline Church United Methodist in creating student internships.

Presidents’ Community Partner Award: Keystone Community Services
Keystone Community Services (KCS) provides a variety of human service programs to support diversity and strengthen the capacity of individuals and families. KCS continues to be a committed partner in supporting Hamline University’s LEAP into St. Paul and CityService first-year orientation events as well as Hamline’s MLK Day of Service.