Hamline News

Lewis Appointed to U.S. Attorney Advisory Committee


U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken have appointed Hamline School of Law Dean Donald M. Lewis to an advisory committee to assist them in recommending Minnesota’s next U.S. Attorney to the president. Prior to becoming dean, Lewis co-founded the Minneapolis law firm of Nilan Johnson Lewis, where he remains of counsel. Before practicing in the private sector, Lewis served as an Assistant United States Attorney for six years. 

Judge Timothy O’Malley of the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings and the former head of Minnesota’s Bureau of Criminal Apprehension will chair the committee, which will also include Annamarie Daley, a Minneapolis attorney in private practice; former U.S. Attorney Thomas Heffelfinger; Stearns County Attorney Janelle Kendall; retired St. Louis County Judge Carol Person; Chief Thomas Smith of the St. Paul Police Department; and Lewis. 

“This distinguished group of attorneys and law enforcement professionals will help identify an individual who will continue Minnesota’s long tradition of outstanding U.S. Attorneys,” Senator Klobuchar said. “That means a seasoned, respected attorney who is fair-minded, able to work productively with local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies, and who is committed to seeing that justice is done under the law and for the people of Minnesota. I’m confident that with the committee’s help, we will find an outstanding Minnesotan for this important law enforcement post.”

“As a member of the Senate Judiciary Committee, I have a deep appreciation for the law enforcement community and the judicial system,” Senator Franken said. “Because of that, I understand the value of selecting Minnesota’s next U.S. Attorney with an advisory committee of expert officials with diverse backgrounds. I look forward to receiving the committee’s findings, and I am confident that their search will help us choose a dedicated attorney who will represent Minnesota well.”

The current U.S. Attorney B. Todd Jones has been nominated to serve as the permanent director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF). His confirmation hearing is expected to be held soon. The committee will review letters of interest, conduct interviews, and offer guidance to Senators Klobuchar and Franken.