Hamline News

Law Graduates Honored at Banquet


Hamline School of Law held its 2013 Graduate Recognition Banquet at the Hamline University Anderson Center Wednesday, May 15, 2013. Students, faculty, staff, family, and friends gathered in the School of Law for a social hour before enjoying a banquet ceremony honoring the Class of 2013. 

Dean Donald Lewis and Hamline University President Linda Hanson welcomed the attendees and congratulated the graduates. In addition, Dean’s Advisory Board Member and Hamline University Trustee Ken Morris, JD ’92, gave a toast, and Kacy Wothe, JD ’13, (pictured) delivered the student address to her fellow graduates. Several Hamline Law professors announced students’ accomplishments and participation in extracurricular activities. The moot court and mock trial participants and were honored. The staff members of Hamline’s Journal of Public Law and Policy, Journal of Law and Religion, and Law Review, along with all of the certificate recipients from the Business Law, Dispute Resolution, and Health Law Institutes, were recognized as well. 

Associate Dean Mary Dunnewold and Dean Lewis announced the following graduation and special honors: Special Honors Best Brief (Weekend Section) Matthew G. Nelson; Best Oralist (Weekend Section) Eric C. Bachinski, Matthew G. Nelson, Rebecca J. St. George; Hamline Law Review Christopher T. Kleman, Editor-in-Chief Elizabeth M. Winchell, Editor-in-Chief Constance L. Bakken; Research Fellows Zachary F. Jacobson, Rachel Kohler, David T. Kubat, Courtney L. Pedersen, Andrew R. Shedlock, Kate M. Speer, Matthew J. Textor; CLEA’s Outstanding Clinical Student Award Jenna L. Doughman; Hogan-Oakes Award Jacob J. Barnes; Judge Jacob Dim Memorial Scholarship Award for Excellence Amran A. Farah; Journal of Public Law Larry A. Bakken; Leadership Award Jacob J. Barnes; Journal of Public Law Larry A. Bakken; Scholarship Award Samantha L. Valerius; MSBA Labor & Employment Law Section Award for Employment Law Jessica A. Stoeckman; MSBA Labor & Employment Law Section Award for Labor Law Allison W. Boldt; Ronald C. Elmquist Award Matthew G. Nelson; Graduation Day Honors (Honor standings through fall 2012. Final graduation honors will be determined when summer 2013 grades are complete.) Summa Cum Laude: Allison W. Boldt, Joseph E. Cooch, Eric R. Dietz, Bryan J. Huntington, Christopher T. Kleman, Jamie L. Olson, Kate M. Speer, Elizabeth M. Winchell; Magna Cum Laude: Lukas A. Anton, Lauren A. Crane, Patricia K. Devoy, Amran A. Farah, Crystal N. Helmbolt, Samantha J. LePage, Daniel M. Marx, Courtney L. Pedersen, Calvin J. Pipenhagen, Andrew R. Shedlock, Samantha L. Valerius, Kacy L. Wothe; Cum Laude: Eric C. Bachinski, Virginia L. Bernhagen, Kelly L. Cveykus Huntley, Susan C. Donskey, Eric E.E. Doolittle, Lauren R. Dwyer, Jennifer J. Grembowski, Rachel Kohler, David T. Kubat, Therese M. Lauer, Chris H. Montana, Matthew G. Nelson, John D. Oborn, Gena N. Rohl, Joe M. Sanow, Jay Smigielski, Brice G. Zabel