Hamline News

Eight alumni honored by Minnesota Lawyer


Eight Hamline Law alumni have been honored among Minnesota Lawyer's 2012 Attorneys of the Year: Celeste Culberth, JD '92, and Leslie Lienemann, JD '92, of Culberth & Lienemann; Christine Funk, JD '94, and Laurie Traub, JD '99, of the Office of the Public Defender; Ramsey County Attorney John Choi, JD '95; Cecilie Loidolt, JD '92, Meagher & Geer; Major Lyndsay M. Olson, JD '03, Minnesota National Guard; and Mark Solheim, JD '90, Larson King.

Minnesota Lawyer annually recognizes the best achievements in the Minnesota legal profession. This year’s attorneys were chosen based on their leadership, involvement in major cases or other newsworthy events, excellence in corporate or transactional services and public service.

Among the honorees is the case team that worked for six years to win workers’ compensation coverage for the teachers who were a part of the shooting at the Red Lake Senior High School in 2005. The attorneys who worked to settle the Anoka-Hennepin School District bullying lawsuit were also selected for working together to find a resolution that now serves as a national model for schools around the country.

The nominations were submitted by judges, bar groups, clients and fellow attorneys. The honorees come from diverse practice groups including criminal law, litigation, public service, intellectual property and in-house legal departments.

This year there were also six repeat Attorneys of the Year. Four additional attorneys were recognized for a lifetime of dedication and commitment to the Minnesota legal community with the Outstanding Service to the Profession award.

The newspaper will host an awards program Feb. 21 at the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to recognize the 2012 Attorneys of the Year and will publish a special section highlighting the honorees.

Read more:
Minnesota Lawyer: Attorneys of the Year 2012 honorees announced