Hamline News

Graduates honored at banquet


Hamline Law held its annual Graduate Recognition Banquet in the Kay Fredericks Room at the Klas Center Wednesday night. Students, faculty, staff, family, and friends gathered in the School of Law for a social hour before enjoying a banquet ceremony honoring the Class of 2012.

Dean Donald Lewis and Hamline University President Linda Hanson welcomed the attendees and congratulated the graduates. In addition, Dean’s Advisory Board Member Steve Kirsch, JD ’76, gave a toast, and Kristina Sjostrom, JD ’12, delivered the student address to her fellow graduates.

Several Hamline Law professors aided in recognizing students’ achievements and participation in extracurricular activities. The Moot Court Competition participants and Minnesota Justice Foundation volunteers were honored. The staff members of Hamline’s Journal of Public Law and Policy, Journal of Law and Religion, and Law Review, along with all of the Institute certificate recipients from the Business Law, Dispute Resolution, and Health Law Institutes, were recognized as well.

Associate Dean Ed Butterfoss and Dean Lewis announced the following graduation and special honors:

Special Honors
Best Brief (Weekday Section)

Mark C. McKenna

Best Brief (Weekend Section)
Barbara K. Fleming

Best Oralist (Weekend Section)
Douglas D. Birk
Matthew B. Smith

Hamline Journal of Public Law & Policy
Eric J. Schmidtke, Editor-in-Chief

SBA President
Joseph A. Camilli

Constance L. Bakken Research Fellows
Bethany A. Assell
George J. Blesi
Jada J. Fehn (pictured)
Stefanie L. Hedlund
Amanda J. LeBlanc
Alexander T. Mastellar
Alexandra J.K. Meyer
Michael F. Ryan

CLEA’s Outstanding Clinical Student Award
Joseph J. LeBlanc

Hogan-Oakes Award
Alyssa G. Smith

ILCM Volunteer of the Year Award
Mirella O. Ceja-Orozco (pictured)

Jackson Lewis Employment Law Scholarship
Joshua N. Brekken

Judge Jacob Dim Memorial Scholarship Award for Excellence
Abigail M. McGibbon

Journal of Public Law 2012 Larry Bakken Leadership Award
Caitlyn E. Lothian

Journal of Public Law 2011 Larry Bakken Scholarship Award
Analee L.H. Leach

MIPLA Intellectual Property Law Scholarship
Mark D. Miller
Kelsey A. Terry

MJF Outstanding Student Service Award
Mirella O. Ceja-Orozco

MSBA Labor & Employment Law Section Award for Employment Law
Mark C. McKenna

MWL Equal Justice Award
Melissa M. Golke

Ronald C. Elmquist Award
Douglas D. Birk

Graduation Day Honors
(Honor standings through fall 2011. Final graduation honors will be determined when Summer 2012 grades are complete.)
Summa Cum Laude
Nathan J. Aquino
Bethany A. Assell
Sonja B. Beddow
Douglas D. Birk
Brian R. Christiansen
James E. Hanson
Julie M. Hopgood
Lynn M. LeMoine
Matthew P. Lindeman
Mark C. McKenna

Magna Cum Laude
David T. Anderson
Joshua N. Brekken
Christopher J. Haugen
Analee L.H. Leach
Alexandra J.K. Meyer
Frances C. Nelson
John A. Pierce
Thomas J. Prochazka
Michael D. Purdham
Shaun M. Sawtell

Cum Laude
Ivan A. Beliaev
Andrew M. Biggerstaff
George J. Blesi
Jeffrey A. Bollers
Kelly A. Larson
Cyri A.M. Lillejord-Wiggins
Ryan J. Long
Thomas E. Meyer
Jennifer C. Middleton
Justin K. Peterson-Johnson
Kyle J. Pettersen-Scott
Devin C. Shanley
Kristina T. Sjostrom
Melissa M. Stewart Ring
Matthew C. Tramm
Elizabeth A. Walker
Holly S. Weick
Cameo K. Zehnder