2021 Hedgeman Honors and Awards

Hedgeman Center for Student Diversity Initiatives and Programs

On Thursday, April 22, 2022, the 2021 Hedgeman Honors and Awards ceremony was held virtually with  over 70 faculty, staff, students and family members in attendance to recognize undergraduate student excellence in academic, leadership and service. In addition to highlighting graduating seniors’ accomplishments and their plans for the future, student leader Gashia Vue delivered the Senior Address.

Receiving Superlative Student Awards were:

  • Kou Thao (first year)
  • Henry Harriel (first year)
  • Alex Yang (sophomore)
  • Pearl Buabeng (sophomore)
  • Jazmin Clausen-Thomas (junior)
  • Gashia Vue (senior)

The top awards of the evening went to:

  • Chaplain Nancy Victorin-Vangerud: The Leavy Oliver “Director’s” Award
  • Professor Matt Sumera: Dr. Colleen S. Bell Outstanding Faculty Award
  • Gaith Hijazin: Outstanding Staff Award
  • Anthony Meng: Outstanding Student Ally 
  • The Hmong Student Association: Multicultural Alliance Student Organization-of-the-Year 
  • Dieu Do: The Barbara Simmons “Eagle” Award, the highest award given at the Hedgeman Honors and Awards

Award descriptions > 
2020 Award recipients >
2019 Award recipients >

Contact information