• 3-3 Law School* Early Admission Program

    Complete your undergraduate and law degrees in six years

    Hamline University's 3-3 program, in partnership with Mitchell Hamline School of Law, allows highly talented and motivated students to pursue a variety of paths to law school, including majors in:

    Students wishing to pursue any 3-3 track should meet with a Legal Studies professor upon entrance to Hamline for assistance in planning their coursework. No entry form or commitment is required. If you decide partway through your studies that the 3-3 track is no longer right for you, then simply continue on with your studies and graduate in four years.

    3-3 students must declare a major and a minor and work with an academic advisor in each department as early in their academic career as possible.

    If students pursue the Legal Studies major, then their academic minor may be in any other program.

    Visit the Legal Studies - Law School Early Admission 3-3 Major for more details.

    If students pursue a major in any program other than Legal Studies, then they must declare a Law School Early Admission (LSEA) minor, which requires these four undergraduate courses:

    • LGST 1110 Legal Systems in American Society
    • PHIL 1130 Logic
    • LGST 1300 Legal Advocacy, Policy, and Practice
    • LGST 5900 Legal Studies Practicum or LGST 5800 Senior Seminar

    And LAW 9121 Contracts, to be completed by the end of the first year of law school.

    Download Declaration of Early Admission Law School/ 3-3 Legal Studies Major/Minor

    Hamline Plan Requirements

    In addition to completing an academic major and minor, 3-3 students must:

    • Complete all Hamline Plan requirements and 100 semester credits.
    • Complete required breadth of study credits (credits outside the major department).
      • Students pursuing a Legal Studies major in three years must earn 76 breadth of study credits (though 20 of them will likely come from their academic minor).
      • Those pursuing another major may count the 28 credits of their first year of law school and the 16 LSEA minor credits, so must only earn 32 additional breadth of study credits during their time in the College of Liberal Arts or School or Business.
    • Apply to graduate by December the year before they intend to start law-school.

    Admission to Law School

    Participation in the 3-3 program does not guarantee law-school admission. 3-3 students must still apply for and be accepted to the law school under the same criteria as all other applicants. 3-3 students must:

    • Sit for the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) and complete the application process to Mitchell Hamline School of Law through the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) during their junior year. Materials and scholarship applications are also available on the LSAC website and at the law school.
    • Complete and transfer back to the College of Liberal Arts or School of Business 28 credits of successful law school work with a grade of C- or better.

    All students are also strongly encouraged to meet with a member of the law-school admissions office by no later than the beginning of their Junior year.

    Continuation After the Junior Year

    3-3 students earn their undergraduate degree after successful completion of 28 credits of law-school course work (C- or better grades).

    If a student is not accepted to law school after their junior year, the student may complete their undergraduate degree in the College of Liberal Arts or School of Business, possibly converting their minor to a second major.

    Transfer Students

    Transfer students are eligible for the 3-3 program. In addition to the requirements set forth above, transfer students must take a minimum of sixteen (16) credits in the major while enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts or School of Business.. Please meet with a Legal Studies professor for assistance in planning your coursework as soon as possible.


    *Hamline University, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), maintains an affiliation and collaborative relationship with Mitchell | Hamline School of Law, an autonomous law school created by the combination of Hamline University School of Law and William Mitchell College of Law and which is separately accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA).