Hamline Events

Virtual Book Launch for CWP faculty John Brandon

Date: June 15, 2021
Time: 7:00 p.m.–8:30 p.m.
Cost: $5
Contact: Name: Terry Horstman: Email: thorstman01@hamline.edu
Location: Virtual Event
Sponsor: Creative Writing Programs
Save the Date: Add to Google Calendar

Description:

John Brandon launches Ivory Shoals, in conversation with Will McGrath

 

About this event

John Brandon presents his latest novel Ivory Shoals, in conversation with Will McGrath.


Event access is $5, which gives you access to the virtual event (access instructions provided via email 24-48 hours prior to event), as well as a $5 off code for use on magersandquinn.com. Use it toward your copy of Ivory Shoals, or anything else from our web store!


About the book: In the tradition of Mark Twain and Cormac McCarthy comes this distinctly American, pulse-quickening epic from the acclaimed author of Citrus County and Arkansas.


Twelve-year-old Gussie Dwyer—audacious, resilient, determined to adhere to the morals his mother instilled in him—undertakes to trek across the sumptuous yet perilous peninsula of post-Civil War Florida in search of his father, a man who has no idea of his son’s existence. Gussie’s journey sees him cross paths with hardened Floridians of every stripe, from the brave and noble to a bevy of cutthroat villains, none worse than his amoral shark of a half brother. Will he survive his quest, and at what cost?


Rich in deadpan humor as well as visceral details that illuminate a diverse cast of characters, the novel uncovers deep truths about family and self-determination as the reader tracks Gussie’s dangerous odyssey out of childhood. Ivory Shoals is an unforgettable story from a contemporary master.


BUY THE BOOK (Available June 15)


About the Speakers:


Will McGrath has worked as a reporter, homeless shelter caseworker, public radio producer, UPS truck loader, Burger King chicken sandwich mayo-applicator, ghostwriter, and ghosteditor, in slightly different order. His debut book, Everything Lost Is Found Again, won the Society of Midland Authors Award for Biography & Memoir, and he has written for The Atlantic, Pacific Standard, The Rumpus, Guernica, and other publications. His next book is forthcoming in Fall 2022.


John Brandon is the author previously of Arkansas, Citrus County, and A Million Heavens. He has spent time as the Grisham Fellow in Creative Writing at University of Mississippi, and the Tickner Writing Fellow at Gilman School, in Baltimore. His work has appeared in Oxford American, GQ, Grantland, ESPN the Magazine, The New York Times Magazine, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, The Believer, and numerous literary journals. He lives in St. Paul, and teaches at Hamline University.