• Awards and Honors

    Alison M. Durfey Memorial Scholarship Award

    Established in 1999 with an initial gift by Judith Durfey, who is the mother of the late Alison M. Durfey '91 who with her friend Christopher Alexander '91 was killed by a drunken driver the summer after graduation. The fund recognizes a student in the College who has been involved in community service. Preference shall be given to the student who best exemplifies Alison Durfey's interest in alleviating hunger and homelessness.

    Nominate Here

    Hamline University Community Social Justice Award

    This award was established in honor of Professor Emeritus Donald P. Irish to recognize Hamline University faculty and staff for their work on behalf of human rights, social justice and peace.

    Nominate Here

    Minnesota Campus Compact Presidents' Awards

    The Minnesota Campus Compact Presidents’ Awards provide an opportunity to give statewide recognition to effective leaders in the development of campus-community partnerships.

    For more information about the Minnesota Campus Compact Presidents' Awards, please visit the Minnesota Campus Compact website.

    Nominate Here

    Newman Civic Fellows Awards

    Newman Civic Fellows Awards are intended to honor the leadership legacy of Frank Newman by prioritizing recognition for student leaders who: Go beyond direct service to seek long-term solutions for social issues; Inspire and engage others; Demonstrate the motivation and potential for effective and long-term civic engagement. Sophomore and junior undergraduate students are eligible for nomination. Exceptional graduate students will also be considered.

    For more information about the Newman Civic Fellows Award, please visit the national Campus Compact Website.

    Nominate Here

    President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll

    Hamline University has been recognized by the President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, and 2011. The Honor Roll is the highest federal recognition a college or university can receive for its commitment in service-learning and volunteering.

    Samuel Louis Parish Award

    Established by Irene Parish (Mrs. William) Scarborough, Class of 1931, in memory of her father Rev. Dr. Samuel Parish, Class of 1906. Dr. Parish was a United Methodist minister in Minnesota, a Hamline trustee, and received an M.A. and honorary Doctor of Divinity degree from Hamline. It is awarded to the student who has contributed most effectively during the year in the area of religious leadership on campus.

    Nominate Here