• PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President

    Nyjee Palmer 
    Email: narradondo02@hamline.edu  

    Vice President

    Jasmine Tappin
    Email: jtappin01@hamline.edu  

    Treasurer

    David Peterson 
    Email: dpeterson35@hamline.edu  

    Public Relations

    Filsan Said
    Email: fsaid01@hamline.edu  

    Secretary

    Aria Gilliam 
    Email: agilliam01@hamline.edu   

    Black History Month Coordinator

    Jordan Grier 

    Email: jgrier02@hamline.edu

    Advisor 

    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu&

  • Hamline News

    this-is-my-story-schedule-thumbnail

    The Hedgeman Center for Student Diversity and Programs is hosting the first event in the This is My Story series is on Thursday, October 5 in Giddens Learning Center room 100E.

    Photo of the old main building in summer

    The Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) has chosen Hamline University as one of the nation’s first Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT) Campus Center sites. Hamline was the only Minnesota institution chosen for the honor. The grant will engage and empower campus and community stakeholders to advance justice and build equitable communities.

    making-waves-presents-thumbnail

    Laura Mann Hill, Making Waves assistant director and alumna, and Hamline students presented on June 3, 2017 at the 22nd Annual Pedagogy and Theatre of the Oppressed Conference.