• Black Student Collective

    The Black Student Collective (BSC), formerly known as PRIDE Black Student Alliance, is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. The Black Student Collective's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    Established in 1969, the BSC was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The original goal of the organization was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality (hence the name PRDIE). The organization represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of the organization was Richard Jones, a sophomore from Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

    Click here to read the Black Student Collective Constitution


    Jazmine Ngwu
    Email :jngwu01@hamline.edu

    Vice President

    Jazmin Clausen-Thomas
    Email :jclausenthomas01@hamline.edu


    Nathan Kange
    Email :nkange01@hamline.edu 

    Public Relations

    Rose-Marie Artiley
    Email :rathiley01@hamline.edu 


    Trevon McClellan
    Email :tmcclellan01@hamline.edu

    Black History Month Coordinator

    Rose Marie Athiley
    Email :rathiley01@hamline.edu


    Carlos Sneed
    Email :csneed@hamline.edu

  • Hamline News


    On Thursday, April 22, the 2021 Hedgeman Honors and Awards was held virtually with over 70 faculty, staff, students and family members in attendance, recognizing undergraduate student excellence in academic, leadership and service. In addition to recognizing graduating seniors’ accomplishments and their plans for the future, student leader Gashia Vue delivered the Senior Address.


    Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams, MFAC alumna ‘13 receives a Newbery Honor, the Coretta Scott King Award, and is a finalist for the William C. Morris Award.