• About the Black Alumni Council


    Officers and Constitution
    Contributions to Hamline University


    Founded in the summer of 2005, the membership of the HAMLINE BLACK ALUMNI COUNCIL, acknowledges the value of diversity and the distinctiveness of Black undergraduate and graduate communities at Hamline University and recognize both the need for unity and strong relationships among Black students and members of the extended Black community.

    The first constitution of the Black Alumni Council was signed and adopted on September 17, 2005 by the following members: Christina D. Ashford ('00), Deborah Simmons Harris ('79), Arlette Mvondo ('00), Willie W. Johnson ('75), Loretta Madden Hall ('76), Brittany J. Perry ('08), Yolanda Y. Williams ('79), and Carlos D. Sneed, Assistant Dean of Students.

    The first executive board of the Black Alumni Council served two years and included:    Yolanda Y. Williams ('79), president; Deborah Simmons Harris ('79), vice president; Arlette Mvondo 9'00), secretary; Willie W. Johnson ('75), membership; Loretta Madden Hall ('76), 1970s representative; Erick L. Goodlow ('93), 1990s representative; and Christina D. Ashford ('00), 2000s representative.  

    In additional to monthly events, Homecoming events, events with students and a reception with President Linda Hanson, the Council coordinated the Black Alumni Weekend in April 2007, which included a Welcome Brunch, Forum on Black Student Life, Dinner and Dance, Worship Service at Camphor Memorial United Methodist Church and the Black Alumni Council meeting

    Click here to view A Walk Down Memory Lane, a visual history of the Black Alumni at Hamline University.

    Officers and Constitution



    Erick L. Goodlow, 1993

    Vice President


    Christina D. Ashford, 2000



    Willie W. Johnson, 1975



    Loretta Madden-Hall, 1976
    Yolanda Y. Williams, 1979

    CLA Alumni Representative


    Daniel Abebe, 1974

    1970s Representatives (2):


    Clifton Sanders, 1977
    One open spot

    1980s Representatives (2):


    Estelle Respert, 1982
    One open spot

    1990s Representatives (2):


    Theresa VanLeer, 1993
    One open spot

    2000s Representatives (2):


    Dionna M. Jones, 2005
    Darryl R. Sledge, 2007

    Hamline Liaison:  


    Carlos D. Sneed,
    Assistant Dean of Students

    * Click here to view a copy of the Black Alumni Council Constitution.

    Contributions to Hamline University

    To make a contribution to any of these awards/funds, please fill out this form.

    Anna Arnold Hedgeman Scholarship Fund
    The Anna Arnold Hedgeman Scholarship Fund was established by members of the 2004-05 Wesley Scholars to promote diversity among the student body. The Fund will provide scholarships to one or more student leaders of color and indigenous student leaders who demonstrate proven ability to enact meaningful exchange in and outside of the Hamline community. The student must be in good academic standing, with commitment to service and potential for a lifetime of leadership and with demonstrated financial aid. After an application process, the Center for Multicultural and International Student Affairs recommends student recipients to the Office of Financial Aid. 

    Barbara Simmons Endowed Scholarship Fund

    The Barbara Simmons Endowed Scholarship Fund was established in 2000 in recognition of Barbara Simmons’s distinguished service to the students at Hamline University. As a staff member in the College of Liberal Arts, Barbara served as Director of Special Programs for all minority and international students, and then as Director of the Study Resource Center, Assistant Dean of Students and Assistant Dean for Academic and Student Affairs. In recognition of her dedication to students, preference for the scholarship is given to those students in good academic standing who have demonstrated financial need and who are either African-American or students with a disability.

    Hedgeman Center Fund
    The mission of the Center for Multicultural and International Student Affairs (MISA Office) is to support, assist, empower and promote the success of students of color, indigenous students, and international students at Hamline University.  To better serve and retain students, MISA staff and initiatives help create a campus community where the needs of students of color, indigenous students, and international students are addressed and where multiculturalism, internationalism and diversity are appreciated, celebrated and advanced. Contributions to this fund enable the MISA Office to expand its programs, services and activities that support students of color, indigenous students, international students, and diversity initiatives across the university.

    PRIDE Assistance Fund
    Founded in 1969 as “Promoting Racial Identity, Dignity and Equality” as the first student organization dedicated to meeting the needs and interests of all students of color and indigenous students at Hamline University, the organization has always enjoyed diverse membership yet maintained a focus on issues affecting Black students and the larger Black communities. Renamed in 2000, PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the campus and community.  Contributions to the PRIDE Assistance Fund make it possible for students to continue their education when unforeseen financial obstacles pose a treat to their matriculation and success at the university.  Perhaps it is broken automobile, unpurchased books and supplies, unpaid rent or lapsed meal credit that stands in the way of a student giving his/her all to their education.  This fund provides emergency loans to students who are active members of PRIDE who find themselves in a short-term financial pinch.

  • Hamline News


    On Thursday, April 22, the 2021 Hedgeman Honors and Awards was held virtually with over 70 faculty, staff, students and family members in attendance, recognizing undergraduate student excellence in academic, leadership and service. In addition to recognizing graduating seniors’ accomplishments and their plans for the future, student leader Gashia Vue delivered the Senior Address.


    Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams, MFAC alumna ‘13 receives a Newbery Honor, the Coretta Scott King Award, and is a finalist for the William C. Morris Award.