Hamline News

Physics Students Win National Award

Recently, the Society of Physics Students (SPS) chapter at Hamline University received the Marsh W. White Award for their proposal titled “Renewable Energy in Units Anyone Can Understand.” Current SPS chapter officers are President Zac Pearson, Vice President Opeyemi Arogundade, Treasurer Elizabeth Gregorio, and Faculty Advisor Dr. Lifeng Dong.

With the awarded fund, they will design and fabricate a small, smart home-like system integrated with wind, solar, and hydro energy. They will use the system to develop youth understanding of the current efficiency of renewable energies. The motivation of the project is to show the general public — especially K-12 students — the importance of renewable energy by displaying how innovations in engineering via physics principles can help our environment.

The Society of Physics Students is an organization of the American Institute of Physics. Marsh W. White Awards are made to SPS chapters to support projects designed to promote interest in physics among students and the general public. The Marsh W. White Award dates back to 1975 and is named in honor of Dr. Marsh W. White for his long years of service to Sigma Pi Sigma, a national physics honor society.

The SPS chapter at Hamline is an on-campus organization that caters to students with an interest in physics. Anyone wanting more information about the SPS or the project may contact Zac Pearson at ZPearson01@hamline.edu or Dr. Lifeng Dong at LDong03@hamline.edu.