Hamline News

Hamline Chief Information Officer Named CIO of the Year

Hamline’s Chief Information Officer Mark Kondrak was recognized for vision and leadership by the Twin Cities CIO Leadership Association and the Minneapolis – St. Paul Business Journal.

The Twin Cities CIO Leadership Association (TwinCitiesCIO) announced the winners of its 2018 CIO of the Year® ORBIE® Awards. TwinCitiesCIO recognized chief information officers in four key categories –Global, Enterprise, Corporate and Nonprofit.

Mark Kondrak from Hamline University was announced the winner in the nonprofit category. Kondrak says he is humbled by the honor and proud of the university’s digital transformation journey for the project Hamline NOW.

“We have emerged as pioneers of digital transformation in education, opening frontiers that are leading to innovations, greater agility, and new business models for the university,” said Mark Kondrak. “Our incoming students are digital natives, in order to help prepare them for their lives in an increasingly digital world, it is incumbent upon us to fully embrace digital transformation.”

The CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards is the premier technology executive recognition program in the United States. Since inception in 1998, over 500 CIOs have been honored as finalists and over 125 CIO of the Year winners have received the prestigious ORBIE Award. The Award honors chief information officers who have demonstrated excellence in technology leadership.

“The individuals who have earned these awards are the best and brightest leaders – not just within Twin Cities chief information officers, but in the categories they represent,” said Tamara Lopata, Executive Director of TwinCitiesCIO. “In today’s interconnected world, organizations that win in the marketplace benefit from the superior strategic planning and day-to-day execution these CIOs bring to the table.”

The 2018 Twin Cities CIO of the Year ORBIE Award winners in all categories are:
Mark Kondrak, Hamline University in the Nonprofit category
Mark Blais, Digi-Key Electronics in the Global category
David Harkness, Xcel Energy in the Enterprise category
John Avenson, Minnesota Twins in the Corporate category

Winners are selected by an independent peer review process, led by prior ORBIE recipients.