• Diversity Initiatives Steering Committee (DISC)

    2021 Hamline Campus Climate Survey

    The 2021 Campus Climate Survey is available now until November 22nd. After you finish the survey, be sure to enter the optional prize drawing if you'd like a chance to win!

    Committee Charge

    The Diversity Initiatives Steering Committee is charged with the principal responsibility for leading, advocating, and coordinating university-wide efforts to realize diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence.


    Specifically, the Diversity Initiatives Committee:

    • Provides leadership in advocating and advancing diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence throughout the university community;

    • Advises and consults with the associate vice president for inclusive excellence in proposing and coordinating the implementation of diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives supporting the university’s mission, vision, and strategic plan;

    • Develops plans for ongoing assessment of existing, pending, and proposed diversity, equity, and inclusion policies, practices, programs, and initiatives, and provides follow-up recommendations based on assessment outcomes.

    The associate vice president for inclusive excellence reports directly to the president. In consultation, DISC submits an annual report to the president and the university leadership team.

    Members of the committee may serve up to three years; students serve one year generally.



    Committee Role


    Steve Anderson 
    Disability Resource Center 
    Staff Ex-officio
    Laura Dougherty
    CLA faculty
    CLA member 2019-2022 
    Patsy Egan
    Staff Ex-officio
    Jen England
    Women's Resource Center, CLA faculty     
    Faculty Ex-officio
    David Everett
    Associate vice president for inclusive excellence
    Staff Ex-officio
    Maryan Hersi 
    HUSC representative
    Undergraduate student representative      2019-2020
    Susi Keefe
    CLA faculty, co-chair 
    CLA member 
    Stephen Kellert
    CLA faculty     
    Faculty      2019-2022
    Ryan LeCount 
    CLA faculty 
    CLA member Standing Member
    Jodi Metz
    Counseling and Health Center
    Staff Ex-officio
    Kate Meyer
    Global Engagement Center
    Staff Ex-officio
    Nur Mood Staff Ex-officio
    Betsy Parrish 
    School of Ed faculty
    Member-at-large 2019-2022
    Jim Scheibel
    Hamline School of Business faculty
    HSB member 2015-2021
    Alice Silkey
    Hamline School of Law faculty 
    Standing Member
    Carlos Sneed
    Associate dean of students/director of the Hedgeman Center