• Megan Atwood


    Megan Atwood received her MFAC in Writing (for children and young adults) from Hamline University. She has published over 25 books for children, from picture books to young adult books. Nine of her young adult books won Reluctant Reader Quickpicks designations from YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association). She has also published short stories and flash fiction for adults in Lines + Stars and 5x5 literary magazines. 

    Her most recent novel, The Devils You Know, was picked up by Soho Teen and is slated for publication in the Fall 2017. The Devils You Know is a YA horror novel about five teens trapped in a house of attractions that is actively trying to kill them. The first novel in a new series for young readers has came out in May from Simon & Schuster—Ice Cream Summer, an Orchard Novel. 

    Megan has served as a Minnesota Book Award judge in the Young People category, as a panelist for the MN Artist Initiative grant, and has critiqued manuscripts professionally for the the Loft Literary Center (and freelance). Previously, she created the young adult imprint, Flux, through Llewellyn Publications and worked as an acquiring editor, as well as a literary agent through Firebrand Literary Agency. She has been part of the literary landscape of Minnesota, particularly in the children's book arena, for over ten years now. Most importantly, however, she works daily to live into the writer-with-cats cliché. So far it's working.

  • News & Accomplishments

    • mcknightartistfellowships_250

      Brian Farrey '09 MFA was awarded the 2017 McKnight Fellowship in Children's Literature; four Hamline MFA and MFAC faculty and alumnae received honorable mentions in Children's Lit and Creative Prose.

    • AWP 2015 news

      Find CWP and Water~Stone Review faculty, students, alums on panels, readings, all over at AWP 2015. April 8 - 11, at Minneapolis Convention Center.


    The Devils You Know
    Soho Teen, forthcoming Fall 2017

    Ice Cream Summer — an Orchard Novel
    Simon & Schuster, 2017

    Dear Molly, Dear Olive (4 book series)
    Capstone Publishing, 2016

    The Contest (5 book series)
    Darby Creek, 2016

    Core Library, 2014

    Dario Quincy Academy of Dance (4 book series)
    Darby Creek Press, 2013

    The Paranormalists (4 book series)
    Darby Creek Press, 2012

    Count the Critters (6 book series)
    Magic Wagon, 2012

    Last Desserts (Night Falls series, #9) 
    Darby Creek Press, 2011

    Connor and Clara Build a Concrete Poem (poetry builders)
    Norwood House Press, 2011