• Diversity Initiatives Steering Committee (DISC)

    Committee Charge

    Hamline University’s strategic plan calls for the university to “become an exemplar in the integration of diversity to achieve and sustain an inclusive environment.” Consistent with our avowed commitment to “inclusive excellence,” diversity initiatives are infused throughout the strategic plan and are manifest in all strategic directions.

    The Diversity Initiatives Committee is charged with the principal responsibility for leading, advocating, and coordinating university-wide efforts to realize diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence.


    Specifically, the Diversity Initiatives Committee:

    • Provides leadership in advocating and advancing diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence throughout the university community;

    • Advises and consults with the Director of Diversity Initiatives in proposing and coordinating the implementation of diversity initiatives supporting the university’s mission, vision, and strategic plan;

    • Develops plans for ongoing assessment of existing, pending, and proposed diversity initiatives policies, practices, programs, and initiatives, and provides follow-up recommendations based on assessment outcomes.

    The Director of Diversity Initiatives (in consultation with the Diversity Initiatives Committee and the Provost) reports quarterly to the President’s Staff and submits an annual report to the President and the University Leadership Team.

    Members of the committee may serve up to three years.



    Committee Role


    Steve Anderson 
    Disability Resource Center 
    Staff member Ex-officio
    Kathy Burleson 
    CLA Faculty
    CLA member 2015-2018 
    Leila DeVriese
    Global Engagement Center
    Staff member Ex-officio  
    Molly Doran Staff member      2017-2020
    t. aaron hans
    Acting Director of Diversity Initiatives
    Staff member, Co-chair Ex-officio
    Susi Keefe
    CLA Faculty
    CLA member 
    Kaori Kenmotsu 
    CLA Faculty
    Member-at-large, Co-chair 2016-2019
    Ryan LeCount 
    CLA Faculty
    CLA member 2014-2018
    Emily Lincoln
    CLA Undergraduate Student
    Undergraduate Student Representative 2017-2018
    Kelly Rodgers  

    Staff member 
    Amanda Roll-Kuhne Staff member  2017-2020
    Jim Scheibel
    Hamline School of Business Faculty
    HSB member 2015-2018
    Alice Silkey
    Hamline School of Law Faculty 

    Carlos Sneed
    Associate Dean of Students/Director of the Hedgeman Center
    Staff member
    Jane Turk Staff member 2017-2020
    Nancy Victorin-Vangerud 
    Staff member Ex-officio

    Graduate Student
    Graduate Student Representative 2017-2018