• MFAC guests

    July 2019 Residency Visiting Writers & Faculty

    Peter Brown (Graduation Speaker)

    Peter Brown is the author/illustrator of numerous award-winning picture books including Mr. Tiger Goes Wild, Creepy Carrots!, The Wild Robot, The Wild Robot Escapes, My Teacher is a Monster!, Creepy Pair of Underwear!, and more! His books have earned a Caldecott Honor, a Horn Book Award, two E.B. White Awards, two Irma Black Honors, a Golden Kite Award, a Children’s Choice Award for Illustrators of the Year, and his books have made multiple New York Times bestsellers. http://www.peterbrownstudio.com/about/

    Erin Entranda Kelly

    Erin Entrada Kelly is a New York Times bestselling author and the winner of the 2019 Newbery Medal for her middle grade novels Hello, Universe, a New York Times bestseller You Go First, the 2017 APALA Award for her novel The Land of Forgotten Girls, and the 2016 Golden Kite Honor award for her novel Blackbird Fly. Erin is also a short story writer and her work has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize and the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction. She currently is a professor of children’s literature at Rosemont College and lives in Delaware. http://www.erinentradakelly.com/

    Jason Reynolds

    Jason Reynolds is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of numerous books including including All American Boys, As Brave as You. Ghost from his Track Series was a National Book Award Finalist. His verse novel Long Way Down received a Newbery Honor Medal, Coretta Scott King Honor, and a Printz Honor. Long Way Down was named best young adult work at the Mystery Writers of America’s Edgar Awards and won the Walter Dean Myers Award from We Need Diverse Books and was a finalist for the NAACP IMage Award for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth and Teens. He is also the author of Miles Morales: Spider-Man a novel based on the Marvel comic. His most recent collection of poetry For Every One came out in 2018 and was one of three slots occupied by Reynolds on the The New York Times best-selling lists for children and young adult's literature alongside Long Way Down and Track Series.  

    AMmi-JOAN Paquette (SENIOR Agent from Erin murphy literary Agency)

    Ammi-Joan Paquette is a senior agent at Erin Murphy Literary Agency. She represents all forms of children’s and young adult literature. She’s especially interested in lyrical voice and tight plots with twists and turns. Additionally, Ammi-Joan is the author of numerous books including middle grade novel The Train of Lost Things and numerous picture books including Elf in the House, Bunny Bus, and Petey and Pru and the Hullabaloo, Ghost in the House, and others. https://emliterary.com/about.php 

    Deborah Kovacs (Co-Founder of Walden Pond Press ) 

    Deborah Kovacs is co-founder and core contributor to Walden Pond Press, the joint imprint of HarperCollins and Walden Media specializing in middle-grade fiction. Authors published by Walden Pond Press include: Anne Ursu (Breadcrumbs, The Real Boy, and the forthcoming The Lost Girl); Laura Ruby (York Series); Laurel Snyder (Orphan Island); Elana K. Arnold (A Boy Called Bat Series), and many others. As part of Walden Media’s previous collaboration with Penguin Books for Young Readers, Deborah helped acquire and publish Ingrid Law’s Savvy and Scumble, both New York Times bestsellers. Deborah mentors developing authors in conjunction with Hamline University’s MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults and with Simmons University’s MFA in Writing for Children. Deborah is the author of more than thirty children’s books, both fiction and nonfiction.

    July 2019 Returning and New Faculty 


    Elana K Arnold 

    Swati Avasthi

    Brandy Colbert

    Nina LaCour

    Meg Medina

    Laura Ruby

    Sherri Smith 

    Anne Ursu

    Coe Booth 

    Lisa Jahn-Clough

    Laurel Snyder

    Phyllis Root

    Jackie Briggs Martin

    Ron Koertge



     See faculty bios here 

    Visit the Residency Archives to see all past guests and graduation speakers.