• Bishop Statue with Sky

    Awards & Honors

    Hamline University CLA students are invited to submit their writing for four competitive awards coordinated by the English Department. Winners will be recognized at the spring honors convocation and awarded cash prizes.

    Eliza A. Drew Awards

    English Essay

    Students may submit one essay, 10 pages or fewer. This category is intended for essays written for an English class.

    Short Story

    Students may submit one short story, 10 pages or fewer.

    Evelyn Apitz Morris Award

    Shorty Story Or Play

    Students may submit a short story or play 15 pages or fewer.

    George Henry Bridgman Poetry Award


    Students may submit a maximum of three poems, for a total of 5 pages or fewer.

    2020 Writing Award Winners

    Eliza A. Drew Awards

    English Essay

    Sarah Olson for "Silencing Expectations"

    Short Story

    Owen Johnson for "How to be a Moon"

    Evelyn Apitz Morris Award

    Short Story

    Kel Holm for "Middle Finger"

    George Henry Bridgman Poetry Award

    Emma Harrington for "Lessons of Delicacy"

    2020 Academics Award Winners

    Mary Ewing Roatch Scholarships

    Awarded to English majors who have demonstrated academic excellence in literary criticism.

    Sabrina Merritt

    Vane Scholarship

    Awarded to a junior or senior English major recommended by the English faculty for academic achievement.

    Tara Westerlund

    Abby Doty

    James Thatcher Ritchie Award

    Awarded to a junior or senior English major for academic excellence.

    Patch Seemuth

    Thomas P. Beyer Award

    Awarded to English majors who have an excellent scholastic record and demonstrated ability in creative writing.

    Kat McCullum 

    2020 Journalism Award Winners

    Robert And Shirley Bogue Scholarship

    Students who have an interest in journalism, preference to those intending to pursue a career in (print) journalism and/or have worked on the Hamline Oracle or other campus publications.

    Molly Landaeta

    Earl E. Craven Award In Journalism

    A student who is a staff member of a campus publication who has raised the standards of campus journalism.

    Lydia Hansen

    Eliza A. Drew Awards In Communications

    Best Editorial

    Mein Le for "Far From Home"

    Best News Story

    Audra Grigus for "A sickness we don't talk about"

  • News

    Graduation thumb

    A total of 433 undergraduate students and 329 graduate students earned degrees at Hamline this year.

    Gustafson thumb

    Brent Gustafson ’94 will return to his alma mater as Hamline University’s new Vice President for Finance and Administration.