• Membership

    The Hamline University chapter of Phi Beta Kappa consists of resident faculty members, staff, and students elected during their junior or senior years.

    Students need to apply for membership. Invitations are sent to eligible students early in the spring semester. A nominating committee reads the applications, and using criteria mainly set by the National Office of Phi Beta Kappa, recommends students for membership to the faculty members of the committee, where a vote is taken.

    Please contact the current Chapter President of Phi Beta Kappa, Professor Art Guetter (aguetter@hamline.edu), if you feel that you should have received an invitation to apply but did not.

    Initiation will be held virtually this year on Thursday, April 22, at 5:30. Initiates will receive details about the schedule of events upon acceptance.  For more information, initiates can visit the Phi Beta Kappa Initiates page.  

    Resident Members:


    Andrea Bell, Modern Languages

    Mark Berkson, Religion

    George S. T. Chu, Music

    Jodi Goldberg, Biology

    Arthur Guetter, Mathematics, Phi Beta Kappa President

    David Hudson, English

    Ann Mabbott, School of Education

    Paula Mullineaux, Psychology

    Kristen Norman-Major '87, Graduate School of Public Administration

    Alina Oxendine, Political Science

    Lisa Stegall, Biology

    Wallace Swan, School of Business

    Katrina Vandenberg, Creative Writing Program


    Chris Berry, ITS

    Meghan Bethke, Development

    Jen Christenson, Recruitment Coordinator

    Holly Collins, Admissions

    Christine Diaz-Higgins, International and Off-campus Programs

    Adam Frye, Athletics

    Jane Prince, School of Law, Alumni Relations

    Michael Reynolds, Associate Provost

    Hannah Roberg '14, University Events

    Kari Richtsmeier '92, International and Off-campus Programs

    Julie Rochat, Library

    Jane Telleen, President's Office


    Mary Bochnak,Emeritus, Management and Economics

    Cynthia Cone, Emeritus, Anthropology

    Charles Graham, Hamline University President Emeritus

    R. Kim Guenther, Emeritus, Psychology

    Nancy Holland, Philosophy

    Douglas McFarland, Emeritus, School of Law

    Joseph Uemura, Emeritus, Philosophy

    George Vane, Emeritus, English

    Dale Varberg, Emeritus, Mathematics