• Phi Beta Kappa

    The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the oldest honor society in the United States for undergraduates in the liberal arts and sciences. Established in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, the Society has played an important part in the intellectual history of the nation for more than two hundred years, and has counted among its members leading scholars, justices of the supreme court, business leaders and others. The Society publishes an academic journal, The American Scholar, which takes its name from the address delivered by Ralph Waldo Emerson to the Phi Beta Kappa chapter at Harvard University on August 31, 1837.

    The Minnesota Zeta Chapter was established at Hamline University in August of 1973.

    Chapter officers

    President: Arthur Guetter, Mathematics

    Vice-President: Jodi Goldberg, Biology

    Secretary: Candice Hart, University Archives

    Historian: George S. T. Chu, Music

    "A fellowship of scholars . . . [whose aim is] intelligence served by learning"
    -Chief Justice Charles Evans Hughes