• 762 Koertge

    Ron Koertge


    Ron Koertge
    is the author of more than a dozen books, most of them novels for young adults. These include Margaux With An X, Stoner & Spaz, and The Brimstone Journals as well as Shakespeare Bats Clean-Up and the sequel Shakespeare Makes the Play-OffsStrays was awarded the Bank Street College Best Children’s Book of the Year and chosen as a Best Book for Young Adults by the American Library Association.

    and Stoner & Spaz were chosen by P.E.N. as winners in their Best Books For Young Readers category. Most of Ron’s books have been American Library Association choices for Best Books and/or Books for Reluctant Readers. Several have been listed in Booklist’s Books of the Decade and the New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age. In addition, his work has won a Georgia Peach Book Honor Award and a Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award.

    Ron is also a poet with over ten books to his credit. His recent books of poetry include Vampire PlanetThe Ogre's Wife, Lies, Knives, and Girls in Red Dresses; and Indigo. He has received grants in poetry from the N.E.A. and the California Arts Council. His poems have been selected twice for the Best American Poetry series. His recent book, Sex World (2014), was his first collection of flash fiction. He taught at the city college in Pasadena, California for many years and in the Vermont College MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults program. Visit Ron at ronkoertge.com

    Read more about Ron as an advisor.  

  • Accomplishments


    Backyard Witch (Series written with Christine Hepperman)

    Book #1: Sadie's Story
    Greenwillow Books, 2015
    Book #2: Jess's Story

    Greenwillow Books, 2016

    Coaltown Jesus
    Candlewick, 2013  

    Lies, Knives, and Girls in Red Dresses
    Candlewick, 2012

    Shakespeare Makes the Playoffs
    Candlewick, 2012

    Now Playing: Stoner & Spaz II
    Candlewick, 2011 

    Stoner & Spaz
    Candlewick, 2011

    Candlewick, 2010

    Candlewick, 2008

    Boy Girl Boy
    Graphia/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2007

    Margaux With an X
    Candlewick, 2006 

    Shakespeare Bats Cleanup
    Candlewick, 2006 

    Where the Kissing Never Stops
    Candlewick, 2005 

    The Arizona Kid
    Candlewick, 2005

    Vampire Planet: New & Selected Poems
    Red Hen Press, 2016

    Sex World (Flash Fiction)
    Red Hen Press, 2014

    The Ogre's Wife
    Red Hen Press, 2013 

    Red Hen Press, 2009 

    Red Hen Press, 2006 

    Geography of the Forehead
    University of Arkansas Press, 2002 

    Making Love to Roget's Wife
    University of Arkansas Press, 2001