• Board of Trustees

    The original act of incorporation of Hamline University, enacted by the territorial legislature in 1854, created the Board of Trustees to be called the “Trustees of the Hamline University of Minnesota.” The Board of Trustees was created for the purpose of "establishing, maintaining, and conducting an institution of learning for the education of youth of both sexes.”

    It was to be (and still is) a board in perpetual succession. It is authorized, under the charter, to "create by-laws as it may deem necessary for government of the institution, its officers and that all affairs and operations of the university shall be managed by or under the direction of the Board of Trustees.”

    The board was also given the power to “confer on such person or persons, as they may deem worthy, all honors and degrees as are conferred by the most learned institutions in the United States.”

    2004-2005 Board Members


    Kenneth Woodrow
    Vice Chairman, Retired
    Dayton-Hudson Corporation
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Rodney Jordan
    Second Vice Chair
    General Counsel
    TLC Companies
    Arden Hills, Minnesota

    Peg Birk
    Senior Vice President/General Counsel
    Federated Insurance Comp.
    Owatonna, Minnesota

    Kita McVay
    Minnwest Corporation
    Minnetonka, Minnesota


    Richard Borchers
    CEO, Retired
    Decisions Systems, Inc.
    United Kingdom

    Mary K. Murray Boyd
    President & CEO
    MKB & Associates
    Roseville, Minnesota

    Laura Chin
    Edina, Minnesota

    Allan R. DeBoer '64
    Chief Executive Officer, Retired
    Rochester, Cheese
    Rochester, Minnesota

    Sally Dyck
    Resident Bishop, Minnesota Area United Methodist Church
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Irving D. Fish '71
    Founding Partner & Chief Operating Officer, Retired
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Kay Fredericks †
    President & CEO
    TREND enterprises, Inc.
    New Brighton, Minnesota

    Joan L. Gardner '66
    White Bear Lake, Minnesota

    Joseph P. Graba
    Dean, Retired
    Graduate School of Education, Hamline University
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Louis F. Hill
    Rockwood Capital Management
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Richard A. Hoel '69
    Winthrop & Weinstine, P.A.
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Gloria H. Kauls MALS '92
    Secondary School Teacher, Retired
    Roseville, Minnesota

    John M. Lavender
    Caliber Development Corp.
    Maple Grove, Minnesota

    Gwen Lerner JD '78
    Attorney at Law
    The General Counsel, Ltd.
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Barbara K. Lupient
    Lupient Enterprises
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Katherine Austin Mahle
    Metro West District
    Superintendent, Minnesota Conference, United Methodist Church
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Thomas J. McGough, Sr.
    President & CEO
    McGough Construction Co.
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Jerome B. Pederson '57
    Officer & Shareholder, Retired
    Fredrikson & Byron P.A.
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Teri E. Popp JD '88
    Attorney at Law
    Golden Valley, Minnesota

    Joel Portice MAPA '93
    Vice President, Health Care Division, Fair Isaac Corporation
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Rozanne L. Ridgway '57
    LLD '78 (Honorary)
    Ambassador, retired
    Arlington, Virginia

    Gloria Roach Thomas
    Lead Pastor
    Camphor Memorial United Methodist Church
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Gary Stern
    President & CEO
    Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    John G. Turner †
    Vice Chairman, Retired
    ING Americas
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Ricardo Paul Vallejos
    Founder & President
    International & Ethnic. Communications, Inc.
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Gordan Walker '51
    Turner Corporations
    New York, New York

    Life Trustees

    Mrs. Howard W. Alkire
    Naples, Florida

    Gladys S. Brooks
    President, Retired
    Brooks/Ridder & Associates
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Ralph P. Hofstad '46
    President & CEO, Retired
    Land O' Lakes
    Edina, Minnesota

    Alexandra "Sandy" Klas
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Robert C. Klas, Sr. '52
    President & CHairman
    Tapemark Company
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Ronald A. Mitsch '56 †
    Vice Chairman & Executive Vice President, Retired
    Saint Paul, Minnesota

    Gerald M. Needham
    Assistant Dean, Retired
    Mayo Medical School
    Rochester, Minnesota

    Charles B. Purdham '48
    Minister, Retired
    United Methodist Church
    Brooklyn Center, Minnesota

    Orem O. Robbins †
    Security American Financial Enterprises, Inc.
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Walter B. Saunders †
    Vice Chairman, Retired
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Mary L. Schilling
    Carefree, Arizona

    Edward R. Titcomb
    Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota

    † Chair Emeritus