• The Hedgeman Center for Student Diversity Initiatives and Programs

  • Questions?

    The Hedgeman Center

    Mail Address: 
    MS-C1945
    Hamline University 
    1536 Hewitt Avenue
    Saint Paul, MN 55104
     

    Located at:
    774 Snelling Ave Room 317
    Saint Paul, MN 55104

    Open 8:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.

    P: 651-523-2423
    F: 651-523-2608


     

  • PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President 
    Keyonis Johnson
    Email: kjohnson86@hamline.edu

    Vice President 
    Kavi Jointe
    Email: jjointe01@hamline.edu

    Treasurer 
    Aman Damer
    Email: adamer01@hamline.edu   

    Public Relations
    Jamesetta Collins
    Email: jcollins10@hamline.edu

    Secretary
    Ashe Jaafaru
    Email: ajaafaru01@hamline.edu  

    BHM Coordinator 
    Mariah Cannon
    Email: mcannon02@hamline.edu  

    Muna Osman
    Email: mosman03@hamline.edu

    Advisor 
    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu  



  • Hamline News
    • Hear about the eye-opening experiences of Hamline students who participated in this year’s Catalyst spring break service trips.
    • Two Hamline students and two staff members recently traveled to Cambridge, MA to visit the humanist communities at Harvard in support of the new Values in Action program at Hamline.
    • Hamline provides numerous opportunities for students to develop, grow, and strengthen their leadership skills in a variety of challenging on-campus roles
    •