• PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President

    Jamesetta Collins
    Email: jcollins10@hamline.edu   

    Vice President

    Ashe Jaafaru
    Email: ajaafaru01@hamline.edu  

    Treasurer

    Amin Amos
    Email: aamos01@hamline.edu

    Public Relations

    Nuuria Osman
    Email: nosman01@hamline.edu

    Secretary

    Tia Matthews
    Email: tmatthews01@hamline.edu

    BHM Coordinator

    Bri Gay
    Email: bgay01@hamline.edu

    Ikram Osman
    Email: iosman01@hamline.edu

    Advisor

    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu  



  • Hamline News

    The Office of Multicultural and Diversity Initiatives invites the Hamline community to the presentation and discussion series entitled, "Ferguson and Beyond: Critical Conversations on Race, Rights, and Criminal Justice" from January 8 - January 29.

    Hamline economics major Linda Umwali has big plans for the future. She wants to become Rwanda's finance minister. MPR News featured Linda in a story about her journey from Rwanda to Hamline thanks to a scholarship that was born out of a study abroad trip to that country, led by Sociology Professor Melissa Sheridan Embser-Herbert.

    The Hamline community is invited to the Hamline University 2015 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration and Day of Service on Friday, January 16. The commemoration program will be held in Sundin Music Hall from 9:15 - 10:15 a.m. and the Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service will be from 10:15 - 1 p.m. at various off-campus locations.