• The Hedgeman Center for Student Diversity Initiatives and Programs

  • Commitment to Community (C2C)


    Commitment to Community (C2C) is a CLA student organization which began during the 1997-98 school year by two undergraduate students who were concerned about the university climate regarding issues of diversity and multiculturalism. Their mission is to foster diversity awareness, appreciation and activism, which will create institutional/individual change and challenge in the way we relate, learn, and live in the Hamline University community.  C2C sponsors events throughout the year to address diversity issues that are of importance to students through panel discussions, movie discussions, experiential activities, guest speakers, and performance events, as well excursions to off-campus events.

    Read more about the 

    Tim Wise 

    2013 Commitment to Community Keynote Address 

    by downloading the flyer.  

    Commitment to Community Keynote Address 

    Frequently Asked Questions.  


     Click here to read the C2C Constitution.

    Keynote Speakers

    Here is a list of some of the Keynote Speakers that C2C has sponsored:

    1997 - 1998
    1998 - 1999

    1999 - 2000
    2000 - 2001
    2001 - 2002
    2002 - 2003
    2003 - 2004
    2004 - 2005
    2005 - 2006
    2006 - 2007
    2007 - 2008
    2008 - 2009
    2009 - 2010
    2010 - 2011
    2011 - 2012
     
    2012 - 2013
    2013 - 2014

             

    Dr. Cornell West, educator, author, social commentator
    Kweisi Mfume, former president/CEO of the NAACP

    Rebecca Walker, author

    Helen Zia, journalist
    Ray Suarez, journalist
    Winona LaDuke, activist and leader
    Dr. J. Herman Blake, educator
    Paul Kivel, activist and author
    Dennis Banks, activist and author
    Dr. Carlos Cortés, author and educator
    Patricia Williams, J.D., legal scholar, educator and author
    Dr. Ronald Takaki, educator and author

    Keith Boykin, author, journalist and social commentator
    Arun Gandhi, social justice and peace activist
    Dr. Yvonne Haddad, scholar and expert in Islam and Muslims
    Michelle Alexander, attorney, author and professor
    Tim Wise, prominent anti-racist activist, social critic and author

     

    Contacts

    Esha Seth - eseth01@hamline.edu

    Jenni Peredia - jperedia01@hamline.edu

    Amber Todd - atodd03@hamline.edu

    Yakasah Wehyee  - kingyakasah@gmail.com

    Josh Wood - jwood06@hamline.edu

    Katie Rawls - krawls01@hamline.edu  

    Allie Hood - ahood01@hamline.edu

    Carlos Sneed - csneed@hamline.edu   

     

  • Hamline News

    T. Aaron Hans was recently welcomed as the new assistant director in the Office of Multicultural and Diversity Initiatives, and started on July 1, 2014.

    Hamline’s orientation staff is busy preparing first year students for the whole college experience with Piper Preview and Piper Passages orientation sessions.

    Rashad Turner, a 2008 Hamline alum, was featured in a TEDx Talk where he spoke about his struggles growing up and the opportunity he has to help urban youth experience the wilderness to teach them valuable life skills.