• Blackboard Learn™ 9.1 Use Policy

    Hamline's migration to Blackboard Learn ™ 9.1 required a review of its use policy and a more formalized approach of managing the system. The revised Blackboard Learn ™ 9.1 Use Policy defines user roles and campus wide management of the system. Below for ease of access are the course roles as they have been defined.

    In the new system, faculty assigned to teach a course as well as students registered to take a course are AUTOMATICALLY enrolled in the system. If the need exists to enroll someone to the course OTHER THAN the automatic enrollment, please email a formal request to us, defining which course role (see below) best describes the user. An ITS representative will contact you and manually create the user in the system.

    Course Roles in Blackboard


     

    Access content areas and view information and materials

    Participate in online discussion and interactive activities

    Add, edit, and remove content areas, info, and materials

    Create, edit, manage, grade, and remove discussion forums

    Create, edit, manage, and remove interactive activities (blogs, wikis, groups, chat, etc.)

    Access and manage the Grade Center and grade student work and activity

    Create, edit, manage, and remove tests and surveys

    Assistant Level 1

    Check mark Check mark          

    Assistant Level 2

    Check mark Check mark Check mark   Check mark   Check mark

    Assistant Level 3

    Check mark Check mark   Check mark   Check mark Check mark

    Assistant Level 4

    Check mark Check mark Check mark Check mark Check mark Check mark Check mark

    Guest Level 1 (Non-Hamline)

    Exclamation Mark            

    Guest Level 2 (Non-Hamline)

    Check mark Check mark          

    Exclamation MarkNOTE: By default, a guest account has access to the Course Home page of the site. All other content areas are not visible (Permit guest) to guest users by default. Individual instructors may elect to make individual content areas (navigation menu links) visible to guest users.

    Course Site Creation

    Each official course offered by the University will automatically have a Course Site created for that term in the Blackboard system. Each Course Site is automatically created upon its inclusion in the official University course listing but based on the following operations calendar:

    Fall Courses

    Created 90 days before the Fall term start date.

    Winter Courses

    Created 90 days before the Winter term start date.

    Spring Courses

    Created 90 days before the Spring term start date.

    Summer Courses

    Created 90 days before the Summer term start date.

    NOTE: Course Sites for cross-listed courses (that share the same instructor, location, and schedule) are created through the academic course scheduling process following the request of the program director or administrator (when the course is included in the University’s official course listing).

    Deleting Course Sites

    Course Sites will remain on the Bb environment for 18 months from the last day of the term in which the course was offered. Course Sites older than 18 months are deleted on January 1st, June 1st, and September 1st each year. Two months in advance of the Course Site deletion process, a notice is posted in Inside Hamline and an email announcement is also sent to all faculty members. Faculty members wanting to save an archived copy of their Course Sites may do so by using the “Archive” feature in the Control Panel.

    Prior to deleting Course Sites, a zipped archive file of each Course Site will be made and kept in the University’s historic backup for 5 years from the last day of the term in which the course was offered.