• PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President

    Tia Matthews
    Email:  tmatthews01@hamline.edu    

    Vice President

    Treasurer

    Amin Amos
    Email: aamos01@hamline.edu

    Public Relations

    Ladan Siraji
    Email:lsiraji01@hamline.edu

    Secretary

    Sesen Kidane
    Email: skidane01@hamline.edu

    BHM Coordinator

    Ikram Osman
    Email: iosman01@hamline.edu

    Advisor

    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu  



  • Hamline News

    The Staff Diversity Development Committee, a committee of the Diversity Initiatives Steering Committee, recently recognized staff members for their participation in diversity initiatives.

    Volunteers from the Hamline community are invited to help staff the Hamline University booth on Saturday, June 27 and Sunday, June 28 at Twin Cities Pride. Also, the Minnesota Private Colleges Council has been chosen to be a parade contingent at this year's Twin Cities Pride parade and would like to invite members of the Hamline community to join them.

    Chaplain Nancy Victorin-Vangerud preached the opening worship service of the Minnesota Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church on May 27, 2015.