• PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President

    Tiara Arradondo-Hunter 
    Email: tarradondohunter01@hamline.edu  

    Vice President

    Jasmine Tappin
    Email: jtappin01@hamline.edu  

    Treasurer

    Nyjee Palmer 
    Email: narradondo02@hamline.edu  

    Public Relations

    Filsan Said
    Email: fsaid01@hamline.edu  

    Secretary

    Aria Gilliam 
    Email: agilliam01@hamline.edu  

    BHM Coordinator

    David Peterson
    Email: dpeterson35@hamline.edu

    Jordan Grier 
    Email: jgrier02@hamline.edu

    BHM Coordinator

    Advisor

    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu&

  • Hamline News

    Hamline will celebrate International Women's Day with an event on Saturday, March 11 from 8:30-11 a.m. Anderson Center 112. Sheryl WuDunn, the first Asian-American reporter to win a Pulitzer Prize, will offer the morning keynote, with workshops and opportunities to engage with organizations to follow. The day is designed to catalyze activism and highlight advancements and challenges in women's rights and equality.

    All members of the university community are invited to join the Hamline University NCORE Team for a day-long exploration of implicit bias featuring presentations from alumnus Dr. Robert W. Simmons III, EdD '07, on Friday, January 20. Although the event is scheduled for the entire day, in recognition of the United States Presidential Inauguration at noon, the NCORE Mini-Conference is scheduled for 9-11:30 a.m. and from 1:45-4:45 p.m.

    2016 marks the 20th anniversary of Hamline’s Commitment to Community (C2C), a university-wide diversity initiatives committee of students, faculty, and staff, whose mission is to foster diversity awareness, knowledge, and understanding through discussion, dialogue, and community building.