• PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President

    Amin Amos
    Email: aamos01@hamline.edu  

    Vice President

    Tottiana Duffy
    Email: tduff03@hamline.edu  

    Treasurer

    David Peterson
    Email: dpeterson35@hamline.edu  

    Public Relations

    Jasmine Tappin
    Email:jtappin01@hamline.edu  

    Secretary

    Netta Thomas
    Email: athomas13@hamline.edu  

    BHM Coordinator

    Tiara Arrandondo-Hunter
    Email: tarrandondohunter01@hamline.edu

    Shay Mitchell
    Email:smitchell04@hamline.edu

    BHM Coordinator

    Advisor

    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu&

  • Hamline News

    Learn about the tradition of Klezmer music in Judaism and hear it performed live by Hamline musicians on Monday, December 5 from 5-6 p.m. in the Multifaith Chapel. 

    Jason Sole, adjunct instructor in the Criminal Justice Department, was elected the new president of the NAACP's Minneapolis chapter. Sole, a 2013 Bush Fellow, also runs Sole Consulting LLC which offers juvenile and criminal justice agencies tools to influence people affected by delinquency, incarceration, and poverty.

    Three Hamline School of Education (HSE) alumni presented at the Healing the Wounds of Racial Trauma Conference with HSE professor Jean Strait. Chris Lutz '07, Aryn Messar '12, and Joyce Jones '09 are also all teachers at Ramsey Middle School.