• PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President

    Tia Matthews
    Email:  tmatthews01@hamline.edu    

    Vice President

    Treasurer

    Amin Amos
    Email: aamos01@hamline.edu

    Public Relations

    Ladan Siraji
    Email:lsiraji01@hamline.edu

    Secretary

    Sesen Kidane
    Email: skidane01@hamline.edu

    BHM Coordinator

    Ikram Osman
    Email: iosman01@hamline.edu

    Advisor

    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu  



  • Hamline News

    2015 marks the 70th anniversary of the end of World War II and the dropping of the two atomic bombs on the Japanese cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. 2015 also marks the 60th anniversary of the Sister City relationship between Nagasaki and Saint Paul, Minnesota. Hamline professors Walter Enloe and Jim Scheibel are helping to make the anniversary a special event.

    Amrit Sharma '09 knew soon after the April 25 earthquake he should be there. Since then he has written over 50 articles letting the world know what is happening in Nepal.

    All LGBTQIA identified staff and faculty are invited to a brown bag lunch and discussion on the third Monday of each month from 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. in Giddens Learning Center, Room 138S Faculty Lounge. The next meeting is Monday, September 21.