• PRIDE Black Student Alliance

    PRIDE Black Student Alliance (PRIDE BSA) is an organization that serves as a support system for student members as well as an educational tool for the University and community. Each year, PRIDE sponsors activities and speakers to raise awareness about and celebrate the rich cultural experiences of people of African descent. PRIDE's annual events are Black History Month, Gospel Night, Kwanzaa and the Black Bag Series.

    PRIDE was established in 1969 during the Civil Rights Movement. PRIDE was the first student of color organization that was established here at Hamline University. The goal of PRIDE was to focus on promoting racial identity, dignity and equality. PRIDE represented and was inclusive of all student of color, as well as white students and international students. The first president of PRIDE was Richard Jones.

    Click here to read the PRIDE Constitution.

    President 

    Amin Amos 
    Email: aamos01@hamline.edu

    Vice President

    Tottiana  Duffy  

        
    Email: tduff03@hamline.edu 

    Treasurer

    David Peterson 
    Email: dpeterson35@hamline.edu

    Public Relations

    Jasmine Tappin
    Email:jtappin01@hamline.edu

    Secretary

    Netta Thomas 
    Email: athomas13@hamline.edu 

    BHM Coordinator   

    Tiara Arrandondo-Hunter 
    Email: tarrandondohunter01@hamline.edu

    BHM Coordinator  

    Shay Mitchell 
    Email:smitchell04@hamline.edu

    Advisor

    Carlos Sneed
    Email: csneed@hamline.edu  



  • Hamline News

    February marks the celebration of Black History Month. PRIDE Black Students Alliance invites the Hamline community to join them for events to reflect on the history and traditions of black culture.

    The next This is My Story event, Transracial Adoptees, is on Thursday, February 11, from 11:20 a.m.-12:40 p.m. in Giddens Learning Center 100E.

    The Diversity Initiatives Forum: Revisiting Fall 2015, Looking Ahead to Spring 2016 will take place on Tuesday, February 9, from 4-5:15 p.m. in Anderson Center room 112. This forum will provide an overview of the committee and its work from fall and winter terms.