• Commitment to Community (C2C)

    Commitment to Community (C2C) is a university-wide diversity initiatives committee of students, faculty, and staff. The committee invites all interested members of the campus community to participate; however, it draws its officers largely from undergraduate students, and from faculty and staff from the diversity initiatives steering committee (DISC). Our mission is to foster diversity awareness, knowledge, and understanding through discussion, dialogue and community building. C2C members are committed to create and support individual/institutional change for equity and justice in the many ways we relate, learn and live in our various communities inside and outside of Hamline University.

    C2C Events:

    Commitment to Community Keynote Address 2015 - REBROADCASTS

    The Promise of Civic Renewal in America - Peter L. Levine 

    "We are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For.” That is a message for all Americans, reminding us that we have the power and responsibility to be active citizens. It is also the title of Peter Levine’s recent book. A professor at Tufts University’s Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service, Levine will discuss why and how Americans can take back our democracy by talking and acting together."

    Dates and location:   

    • Oct. 6, 11:30-12:30 pm, East Hall 106
    • Oct. 13, 11:30-12:30 pm, Anderson 304
    • Oct. 27th, 11:30-12:30 pm, East Hall 106 

    Commitment to Community Panel Discussion

    “We are the ones: organizing communities for change”

    Thursday Sept. 24th, 11:15 am – 12:45 pm - Anderson Center 304/305

    Join us for the Commitment to Community panel discussion with faculty, staff, students, and community members to discuss what it means to be organizers for change in our communities. 

    Current Members:

    Kathryn Burleson faculty, DISC - kburleson01@hamline.edu
    Molly Doran - staff - mdoran03@hamline.edu
    t. aaron hans Acting Director Diversity Initiatives - tahans@hamline.edu
    Kenny Ngo - student '16 - dngo01@hamline.edu
    Evelyn Pechous 
     Jenni Peredia student '16 - jperedia01@hamline.edu
    Jim Scheibel - faculty - jscheibel01@hamline.edu
    Merry Snyder student '16 - msnyder06@hamline.edu
    Jane Turk - staff -  jturk02@hamline.edu
    Nancy Vang - staff -  nvang10@hamline.edu
    Alyssa Volkmann student '17 - avolkmann01@hamline.edu

    Click here to read the C2C Constitution.