Hamline News

Professor Sandeen Named ABF Fellow

Professor Sharon Sandeen has been named a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation (ABF). Membership in the Fellows is a significant honor and is limited to one-third of one percent of legal professionals in America.

The Fellows is an honorary organization of attorneys, judges, law faculty, and legal scholars who have been elected by their peers because of their outstanding achievements in the legal profession. Their public and private careers have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the welfare of their communities and to the highest principles of the legal profession.

Professor David Allen Larson was appointed to the Fellows this year as well. Other current Minnesota Fellows of the American Bar Foundation include Dean Donald Lewis and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Ed Butterfoss.

Established in 1955, The Fellows support the research of the ABF. The Fellows support the research work of the ABF through their annual contributions and sponsor seminars and events of direct relevance to leaders of the legal profession.

Membership in The Fellows is limited to one third of one percent of lawyers licensed to practice in each jurisdiction; members are nominated by Fellows in their jurisdiction and elected by the Board of the American Bar Foundation.

Founded in 1952, the ABF is the nation’s leading research institute for the empirical study of law. An independent, nonprofit organization, the ABF advances the understanding and improvement of law through research projects of unmatched scale and quality on the most pressing issues facing the legal system in the United States and the world.