• Diversity Initiatives Standing Committee

  • Diversity Initiatives Standing Committee (DISC)

    Committee Charge

    Hamline University’s strategic plan calls for the university to “become an exemplar in the integration of diversity to achieve and sustain an inclusive environment.” Consistent with our avowed commitment to “inclusive excellence,” diversity initiatives are infused throughout the strategic plan and are manifest in all strategic directions.

    The Diversity Initiatives Committee is charged with the principal responsibility for leading, advocating, and coordinating university-wide efforts to realize diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence.


    Specifically, the Diversity Initiatives Committee:

    • Provides leadership in advocating and advancing diversity initiatives and inclusive excellence throughout the university community;
    • Advises and consults with the Director of Diversity Initiatives in proposing and coordinating the implementation of diversity initiatives supporting the university’s mission, vision, and strategic plan;
    • Develops plans for ongoing assessment of existing, pending, and proposed diversity initiatives policies, practices, programs, and initiatives, and provides follow-up recommendations based on assessment outcomes.

    The Director of Diversity Initiatives (in consultation with the Diversity Initiatives Committee and the Provost) reports quarterly to the President’s Staff and submits an annual report to the President and the University Leadership Team.

    Members of the committee may serve up to two years.


    Name Role Term

    Cassie Bean
    International and Off-Campus Programs Staff 

    Member Co-Chair 2013-2015

    Kathy Burleson
    College of Liberal Arts Faculty

    Member 2013-2015

    Stephanie Chrismon
    Graduate Student

    Graduate/ Law Student Representative 2013-2014

    Veena Deo
    Director of Diversity Initiatives



    Leila DeVriese
    College of Liberal Arts Faculty

    Chair 2012-2014

    Rachel Endo
    Hamline School of Education Faculty

    Faculty Council Representative 2012-2014

    Sherrie Fernandez-Williams
    Career Development Center Staff

    Member 2013-2015

    Meg Gerlach
    Counseling and Health HUSA

    Member 2011-2013

    Morgan Holcomb
    Hamline School of Law Faculty

    Member 2012-2014

    Jane Krentz
    Wesley Center Staff

    Member 2013-2014
    Ken Takata
    College of Liberal Arts Faculty 
    At- Large Member  2015

    Katharine Romme
    Information Technology Staff

    Member 2012-2014

    Rob Routhieaux
    Hamline School of Business Faculty

    Member 2012-2014

    Carlos D. Sneed
    Director of Hedgeman Center

    Ex-Officio Ex-Officio

    Yakasah Weyhee
    CLA Undergraduate Student

    Undergraduate Student Representative continuing---