• Tuition and Scholarships

    Tuition and Fees


A tuition deposit of $350 is required upon acceptance into the program for the 2016-2017 academic year; this is later credited toward tuition.

    Tuition is $719 per credit; $8628 per residency + semester (each residency and the following one-on-one study period; a semester) combined for equals 12 credits. There are a total of five residencies required; costs per residency include all workshops and program-related events, as well as five months of one-on-one study with a faculty member following the residency.

    There is a Residency Reception/Dining Fee of $85. This fee includes the opening and closing banquets as well as our mid-week receptions. Optional field trips may include additional fees. Students registered for the final residency will be charged a $75 thesis binding fee. What additional costs can I expect at the residencies?

  • Scholarships and Funding Information

    Hamline University recognizes the important role that scholarships serve in helping students finance their education. In addition to the scholarships listed below, Hamline provides information on external scholarships and awards to its MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults (MFAC) students.

    Hamline University Scholarships for MFAC students include: 

    Merit Scholarships -- $500-$1000

    • The low-residency MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Hamline offers a number of merit scholarships for incoming students based on the quality of writing and overall promise shown in their application materials. These scholarships range from $500 to $1,000. 

    TA Barron Fellowship -- $5,000

    • An annual scholarship given to a current MFAC student who shows outstanding promise in the writing of fantasy that explores moral questions and/or deep ideas about the human condition. It is open to all students enrolled in the MFAC program. 

    Walden Pond Press Scholarship in Middle Grade Fiction and Nonfiction -- $2,500 

    • Annual award given to current students in the program for the most promising manuscript in middle-grade fiction or nonfiction. 

    Herman W. Block Memorial Scholarship -- $5,000

    • Annual award offered to new students who exhibit significant promise in writing for children and young adults. The scholarship, given by author Kate DiCamillo, is announced each January. Only students accepted for that calendar year (January and the previous July residency) are considered. 


    • Annual award given to a new or current student in the program who shows exceptional promise as a writer of color.

    Anne Tews Schwab scholarship in excellence in critical writing -- $1000

    •  This award is given bi-annually to a student in their third semester whose extended critical essay is judged by faculty to be of the highest quality.   


    • The Frances and Kermit Rudolf Nonfiction Scholarship is a $1,000 annual award to the most promising manuscript (not already accepted by a publisher) in the field of nonfiction—picture book, easy reader, or a longer nonfiction book.  It will be judged on the quality of writing, original research, and innovative format. The award will be judged by an editor or agent in the field.

    Anne Stickney Schmidt Scholarship in Young People’s Literature presented by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company--$1,000  

    • Annual award given to a new or current student in the program who shows exceptional promise in the writing of picture books.    

    Financial Aid

    Graduate students at Hamline are welcome to apply for financial aid through federal government and private bank loans. Visit the Office of Financial Aid for more information.