• Visiting Writers 

    CWP students have several opportunities to hear from and work with nationally known authors: at the Water~Stone Review Summer Writing Workshop or on campus. Authors visiting campus give a public reading, meet with students at the advanced level of their programs, and participate in a public interview conducted by a member of the faculty and a student selected by the faculty member. The interviews are then published in the next issue Water~Stone or Runestone.

    February 2016 : RICK MOODY 

    Ricky Moody 400Public Reading
    Tuesday, February 23, 2016
    7:00 pm, Giddens Learning Center 100E

    Author Interview
    Wednesday, February 24, 2016
    7:00 pm, Giddens Learning Center 100E

    Rick Moody is the author of five novels: Hotels of North America, The Four Fingers of Death, Purple America, The Ice Storm, and Garden State, as well as an award-winning memoir and multiple collections of short fiction. Moody is the recipient of a Guggenheim fellowship, and his work has been anthologized in Best American Stories, Best American Essays, and the Pushcart Prize anthology. Moody lives in Brooklyn, New York. Visit his website at rickmoodybooks.com.

    March 2016 :  JONI TEVIS 

    Joni Tevis 400Public Reading
    Tuesday, March 8, 2016
    7:00 pm, Kay Fredericks Room, Klas Center

    Author Interview
    Thursday, March 10, 2016
    9:40 - 11:10 am (Runestone class)

    Formerly a park ranger, factory worker, and seller of cemetery plots
    , Joni Tevis is the author of the acclaimed book of essays, The Wet Collection. Her nonfiction has been published in Oxford American, the Bellingham Review, Shenandoah, the Pushcart Prize anthology, and Orion. She teaches literature and creative writing at Furman University, and lives in Greenville, South Carolina. Visit her website at jonitevis.com. 



  • A Sampling of Past Visiting Authors:

    Kevin Moffett, Jamaal May, Benjamin Percy, Ralph Angel , Richard Bausch, Terry Tempest Williams, Ann Pancake, Martin Espada, Susanne Antonetta, Carl Muske-Dukes, Junot Diaz, and Eavan Boland. 

    FEATURE: Read Kevin Moffett's author interview in Runestone Literary Journal.


    Contact The Creative Writing Programs with questions. Send an email or call 651-523-2047.