• Art History at Hamline University

    The study of art history involves the analysis of art and architecture within a cultural framework and is thus highly interdisciplinary in approach.  The goals of the department are to enhance students' perceptual and analytical abilities and improve research and writing skills. Through foundation courses, specialized electives, and advanced seminars art history students gain the ability to work independently on a senior research project that is the culmination of undergraduate art history studies.

  • Department News

    Explore Featured News Stories featuring the Department of Studio Arts and Art History. 
    Discover more about the Current Exhibition in the Soeffker Gallery.


  • Art History Facilities

    The Department of Studio Arts and Art History maintains a collection of more than 80,000 slides and digital images. The 2,000-square-foot painting studio has almost 1,000 square feet of north light. The printmaking studio is equipped for the intaglio printmaking process. Housed in separate buildings are 2,130 square feet of sculpture and drawing studios. The sculpture studio is equipped for clay modeling and plaster casting. The Soeffker Gallery, a 900-square-foot, secure and climate-controlled gallery houses the permanent collection and features annual exhibitions that have brought national attention to the university.


  • Additional News

    CWP faculty Juliet Patterson’s newest book of poetry, Threnody, is being released. Join Juliet for the launch party on the 27th at the Bryant Lake Bowl.

    Hamline MFA ’03 alum, Su Smallen, is celebrating the release of two new books of poetry, Kinds of Snow & You This Close. Reading and Launch on 10/24.

    Join Stephanie Wilbur Ash (MFA '08) on Saturday the 22nd at Subtext Books for the launch of her first novel, The Annie Year, published October 11th by Unnamed Press.