• Public Sector Conflict Resolution

    Certificate Topics

    This new certificate program provides a detailed introduction to the historical roots and legal requirements for addressing conflict in employee relations as well as with conflict that arises in the local government citizen participation model. The certificate will explore the theories and practices associated with the negotiation, mediation and arbitration processes, the laws involving employee and citizen rights, and methods and techniques for conducting meetings and facilitating decision making.

    Register Now  

    Program at a Glance

    Students must complete ninety hours of training to receive the Public Sector Conflict Resolution Certificate from the Hamline School of Business Center for Public Administration and Leadership and 8 Continuing Studies credits.

    Cost for the program is $2,650.

    Time Requirements

    Participants commit to seven thirteen-hour sessions over an eight-month period, starting in September 2014. Both Thursday and Friday classes meet from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. A continental breakfast and lunch are included.

    Schedule

    Session 1: Thursday, September 18, and Friday, September 19, 2014
    Session 2: Thursday, October 16, and Friday, October 17, 2014
    Session 3: Thursday, November 19, and Friday, November 20, 2014
    Session 4: Thursday, January 15, and Friday, January 16, 2015
    Session 5: Thursday, February 19, and Friday, February 20, 2015
    Session 6: Thursday, March 19, and Friday, March 20, 2015
    Session 7: Thursday, April 16, and Friday, April 17, 2015

    Degree Candidacy

    All participants are eligible to earn the certificate and Continuing Studies credits regardless of prior academic experience. Eligible students who wish to earn master's level elective credits toward the Master of Arts in Public Administration at Hamline University must meet the requirements for admission to the Hamline School of Business and complete additional academic work in the class.