• Public Safety, Fire and EMS Administration Certificate

    The certificate in Public Safety Administration at Hamline University is designed for fire, emergency service, and law enforcement personnel who seek advanced study in public safety administration. This certificate is designed to improve interactions with administration, enhance communication with co-workers, develop skills in community service, improve opportunities for promotion, earn academic credit, and articulate personal perspectives on community service.

    Register Now

    Certificate Topics

    The program consists of the following seven core modules:

    • Foundations in Public Safety Administration (City/County)
    • Leadership and Management in Public Safety I and II
    • Public Safety Human Resource Management, and Labor Relations
    • Homeland Security, Incident Command, and Public Information
    • Public Budgeting, Technology, and Governmental Relations
    • Cases in Public Safety Innovation-Best Practices
    • Emergency Medical Response, Hazardous Waste Materials, and Civil Defense Administration

    Program at a Glance

    Students must complete ninety hours of training in seven monthly sessions over an eight-month period. The program is deliberately scheduled to span two calendar years so the cost of certification can be spread over two budget cycles. Students who complete the Public Safety coursework will receive a certificate from the Hamline School of Business Public Administration program and 8 Continuing Studies credits.

    Cost for the course is $2650.

    Time Requirements

    The sessions for the 2014-2015 certificate are scheduled for the following dates:

    Session 1: Thursday, September 11, 2014 and Friday, September 12, 2014
    Session 2: Thursday, October 9, 2014 and Friday, October 10, 2014
    Session 3: Thursday, November 13, 2014 and Friday, November 14, 2014
    Session 4: Thursday, January 8, 2015 and Friday, January 9, 2015
    Session 5: Thursday, February 12, 2015 and Friday, February 13, 2015
    Session 6: Thursday, March 12, 2015 and Friday, March 13, 2015
    Session 7: Thursday, April 9, 2015 and Friday, April 10, 2015

    Each session will be scheduled as follows:
    Thursday sessions:  Noon - 6 p.m.
    Friday sessions:  8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

    Degree Candidacy

    All participants are eligible to earn the certificate and Continuing Studies credits regardless of prior academic experience. Eligible students who wish to earn master's level elective credits toward the Master of Arts in Public Administration at Hamline University must meet the requirements for admission to the Hamline School of Business and complete additional academic work in the class.