Hamline News

May 21, 2009

Gleason, 1600-meter relay team advance to finals at nationals

Gleason ran in the preliminary race of the 1500-meter run, finishing fourth in his heat with a time of 3:53.65.

The top four runners in each heat, plus the next four fastest runners, advance to the finals. All eight runners in Gleason's heat advanced and all 12 finalists beat the previous track record time of 3:55.94.

All eight runners in Gleason's heat also posted better times than the winner of the other heat.

The finals of the 1500-meter run will take place on Saturday, May 23, at 1:20 p.m. ET (12:20 p.m. CT).

The 1600-meter relay team of Andy Marnach (Jr., Hokah, Minn.), Brant Luehman (Sr., Amery, Wis.), Tyson Molitor (So., Belgrade, Minn.) and Brent Nelson (Jr., New London, Minn.) sprinted to second in their heat with a time of 3:14.26.

The top two teams in each heat, plus the next two fastest teams, advance to the finals in the 1600-meter relay. Half of the eight teams in the finals are from the MIAC (Hamline, St. Thomas, Bethel and Gustavus).

The finals of the 1600-meter relay will conclude the 2009 NCAA outdoor championships and will be run on Saturday, May 23 at 4:45 p.m. ET (3:45 p.m. CT).

Derall King (So., Inver Grove Heights, Minn.) is the other Piper set to compete at the 2009 nationals. He will make his second straight appearance in shot put after throwing to an all-American third place finish at indoor nationals. He made the field with his NCAA provisional throw of 16.30 meters (53-5 3/4) at the Hamline Invite at the beginning of April. The shot put will be contested on Saturday, May 23, beginning at 12:00 p.m. ET (11:00 a.m. CT).