Hamline News

Jon Lowery named head men's soccer coach

Lowery has been serving as an assistant with the Demon Deacons since 2007. He collected the 2008 ACC regular season championship, the 2008 NCAA tournament #1 seed, and a 2008 NCAA final four appearance, in addition to the 2007 NCAA championship. Under his guidance, Wake Forest’s goalkeepers gave up just 17 goals while compiling a 21-2-1 record last fall. Additionally, the Deacons’ 22 wins in 2007 was a school record.

A three-year goalkeeper at Ohio State University, Lowery was the first player in Buckeye history to be named to the All-Big Ten first team twice (1997, 1998). During those same two seasons he also earned NSCAA second team All-Midwest honors. He was an assistant coach for his alma mater from 2005-07, compiling a 22-15-5 overall record during those seasons.

Lowery earned his bachelor’s degree in communications from Ohio State in 1999, before moving on to earn a master’s in sport management from the University of Massachusetts-Amherst in 2005. He served as an assistant coach with that program from 2002-04.

“I'm thrilled for the opportunity to join the Hamline community and to compete in one of the finest Division III conferences in the country,” said Lowery. “I’m excited to return to the Twin Cities, an area I appreciate and know very well. The bar has been set high for the Hamline soccer program, and I look forward to taking the Pipers to the next level in the MIAC.”

Lowery went on to play four seasons of professional soccer after graduation from Ohio State. The native of Apple Valley, Minnesota played three of those seasons with the Minnesota Thunder (1999, 2000, 2002).

“Jon has proven success competing and coaching at the highest levels of soccer, and has strong ties to the Minnesota high school, club, collegiate and professional soccer scenes,” said Beeman. “We are excited that all of this will allow him to achieve immediate success with the strong program foundation he is inheriting at Hamline.”

Lowery is taking over a program that will return 19 letter winners from the 2008 roster, including Hamline’s all-time leading goal scorer.