Hamline News

Women's tennis team earns ITA academic honors

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All eligible student-athletes whose names appear on the NCAA eligibility form and have competed in one or more varsity matches must average into the GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2009 and spring 2010).

Three MIAC institutions (Hamline, Gustavus Adolphus, and Saint Benedict) earned the team honor. The Pipers are coached by Jon Henning.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman thorough senior year).

Hamline's three ITA Scholar-Athletes on the 2010 list are Kelsey Eatherton (Jr., White Bear Lake, Minn.), Kristen Kiemele (Jr., Eagan, Minn.), and Anna Yarbrough (So., Minneapolis, Minn.).