Hamline News

Schmaedeke named men's outdoor track and field coach of the year

Schmaedeke was named the coach of the year in men's cross country last fall after leading the Pipers to the conference championship. He was then named the indoor men's coach of the year after Hamline finished second in the closest team finish in conference history.

In addition to sweeping the 2009-10 awards, Schmaedeke has won four out of the last five conference coach of the year awards in men's cross country/track and field. He was named the indoor coach of the year in 2009 as well.

"There is not much more that can be said about Coach Schmaedeke that has not already been shared. He is the epitome of an educator - one who prioritizes student-athletes and works tirelessly to do all he can to help each one of them maximize their experience," said Hamline director of athletics Bob Beeman. "Hamline is fortunate to have Coach Schmaedeke on staff, the students are blessed to have him as a coach, and I am pleased that his peers have seen fit to once again recognize his outstanding work in athletics."

The men's team posted their best finish at the outdoor championships in Schmaedeke's tenure, putting together 155.0 points to finish second to St. Thomas at the meet last weekend.

Five Piper performances captured conference titles and two set school records. Hamline also had one athlete hit an NCAA automatic qualifying mark while six had NCAA provisional qualifying performances.

The Pipers showed their depth at the meet, winning conference championships in a sprint relay, a distance event, a vault, and in throws.

The team had two first-years win conference championships, led by Shaise Schuette (Anoka, Minn.) in the pole vault. Schuette's win allowed him to complete the sweep of the year's titles in the event. John Yates (Bemidji, Minn.) captured the championship in the javelin by nearly 12 feet in his first conference meet.

Ian Bauer (Sr., Roseville, Minn.) posted the Piper win in a distance event - capturing the championship in the 10,000-meter run with a time of 31:51.43. He would go on to finish third in the 5000-meter run on Saturday in 15:06.49.

Aaron Wilkerson (Sr., Roseville, Minn.) won the MIAC championship in the hammer throw with an NCAA provisional qualifying throw that also set a new school record [56.43 meters (185-1)]. Andy Marnach (Sr., Hokah, Minn.) had the other school record in the 200-meter dash (21.85).

Derall King (Jr., Inver Grove Heights, Minn.) had Hamline's NCAA automatic qualifying mark with his second place finish in the shot put.

Schmaedeke's Pipers ended the exciting meet by capturing the title in the final event on the track - the 1600-meter relay. Hamline recorded an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 3:15.66 en route to the championship run. The team consisted of Marnach, Christian Willman (Fy., Rosemount, Minn.), Tyson Molitor (Jr., Belgrade, Minn.), and Brent Nelson (Sr., New London, Minn.).