Hamline News

Pipers sweep MIAC end-of-season awards

Monson ran to the individual conference title in 25:38.7, leading the Pipers to back-to-back team championships. Hamline ran away from the crowd en route to winning the championship, posting the lowest point total ever for a Hamline championship team (31 points) while the second place team tallied 79 points.

This is the second consecutive MIAC men’s cross country year-end honor for Schmaedeke. Additionally, it is the fourth straight season, and fifth in six years, that Schmaedeke has earned the MIAC coach of the year honor. He was so honored at the end of the 2010 men’s indoor and outdoor track and field seasons, as well as after the 2009 men’s indoor track and field season.

“This string of honors for Paul and our teams is a great reflection of the consistency of excellence that we strive for at Hamline,” said director of athletics Bob Beeman. “It is exciting to see the hard work and dedication these student-athletes put in year-round pay off for Paul, Devin and the entire program.”

Schmaedeke’s Pipers entered the race as the favorites and lived up to the hype at the Como Golf Course. The sweep of the individual and team titles marked just the third time in Hamline history and the first time in 35 years that this feat has been accomplished by the Pipers. Hamline also swept the titles in 1973 and 1975.

In capturing the 2010 title, the Pipers won their sixth team championship in school history and ended the “curse of the even-numbered year” – their previous titles came in 1973, 1975, 1977, 2005, and 2009.

Hamline placed three runners in the top five, six in the top 20, and their top seven in the top 23. The top 15 runners at the championship are All-MIAC. Monson, Jack Deichert (Jr., Golden Valley, Minn.), Colin Rogers (So., River Falls, Wis.), Ian Campbell (Sr., Blooming Prairie, Minn.), and Ellis Richardson (Jr., Shoreview, Minn.) put together the All-Conference runs.

The 16th-25th-place runners earn All-MIAC honorable mention recognition. The final two Piper points-scorers, Andy Johnson (Sr., Andover, Minn.) and Nate Dobbins (So., Rochester, Minn.), made that list.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC announced the fifth annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Men's Cross Country. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

Campbell is the Hamline representative on the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team.

Hamline will next run at the Central Region Championships on Saturday, November 13, at 12:00 p.m. The Pipers enter with the #1 ranking in the region and the #22 national ranking. The top two teams at regionals earn automatic bids to the NCAA national meet.