Hamline News

Pipers shoot the lights out in win over Royals

The two teams exchanged runs, and leads, in the opening ten minutes of play.

The host Royals put together a 6-2 lead after the opening tip, but Hamline quickly went on an 11-2 run in response. As a result, just over six minutes into the game, the Pipers led 13-8.

The Royals took their turn to respond, taking a 19-18 lead on a three-pointer from JD Robinson at 11:13.

A 20-20 tie with nine minutes to play before the intermission was broken open by the Pipers as they led at the break, 45-37.

Hamline immediately went up by 10 to start the second half as Carl Hipp (Sr., Little Canada, Minn.) hit a layup.  

After that, the Pipers were on cruise control, going up by as many as 19 several times in the half.

The Pipers shot nearly 61% in the first half and just over 65% in the second half, evening out to exactly 63% (29-for-46) for the game.

Hipp had a game-high 26 points and added seven rebounds and four blocks. Tyler Pannell (Fy., Portland, Ore.) tallied 11 points as he hit three of six attempts from outside the arc. Mike Campbell (Jr., Burnsville, Minn.) chipped in 10 points.

Bethel was led by 24 from Taylor Hall and 21 from Christian Skinner. 

The Pipers are now 13-8, 11-5 MIAC and the Royals are 6-15, 3-13 MIAC. Hamline returns home to Hutton Arena to host Macalester College at 3:00 p.m.

Prior to the start of the game, the Pipers will host the "Row of Honor" celebration, postponed in December due to a blizzard.

The “Row of Honor” recognizes the achievements of ten Piper greats that include eight players and two coaches. The group consists of an NBA Hall of Fame member (Vern Mikkelsen ‘49), a player who competed in the NFL and NBA (Don Eliason ‘41), and another who competed in the NBA and MLB (Howie Schultz ‘43). The two coaches being honored are Joe Hutton, Sr., who led the Pipers to all three of Hamline’s national championships, and Don Meyer, an ESPY award winner who began his collegiate head coaching career at Hamline en route to becoming the all-time leader in coaching wins in NCAA men's basketball history, posting 923 career collegiate wins.